View Full Version : Is SweetIM spyware?
Someone recently mentioned to me that Spybot flags SweetIM (or at least part of it) as spyware. Unfortunately everything I have found through Google has said that SweetIM is not spyware/adware/etc (although they appear to have lost their Softpedia 100% free certification).
I would believe that the version of SweetIM that was being used was a new beta for AIM users.
Does anyone have any idea as to why Spybot would remove part of this? It would be nice to know for sure if it really is spyware. ;)
md usa spybot fan
2007-07-16, 22:48
There does not appear to be a detection named "SweetIM", that I see. That leaves someone attempting track the problem down with very little to go on. Perhaps if you could get the person that you heard the problem from to post the Checks.yymmdd-hhmm.log from when the problem was detected, it would be helpful.
I think they said that SweetIM downloads a firewall bypasser of some sort (I assume it's that IE Firewall Bypass thing).
I've asked them to scroung up the log file, and gave them the link to post it here.
dequeensmallengine
2008-08-30, 12:33
I've been working for 2 days to rid myself of SweetIM and it is unremovable....
It should be flagged as malware!!!!
Thousands of people are finding it impossible to remove!
dequeensmallengine
2008-08-30, 12:37
Someone recently mentioned to me that Spybot flags SweetIM (or at least part of it) as spyware. Unfortunately everything I have found through Google has said that SweetIM is not spyware/adware/etc (although they appear to have lost their Softpedia 100% free certification).
I would believe that the version of SweetIM that was being used was a new beta for AIM users.
Does anyone have any idea as to why Spybot would remove part of this? It would be nice to know for sure if it really is spyware. ;)
It is impossible to remove from your computer.....
what does that classify it as?
i can not visit www. sweetim.com it is blocked by my hostsfile so it seems like some sort of malware as i could fint out. here is the siteadvisor report, look at the comments: http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/sweetim.com
the link to www. sweetim.com on the spybot forums should be disabled.
hello - I am the VP Marketing of SweetIM, and I would like to assure you that SweetIM is a 100% clean product. recently we received TrustE certification for trusted download programs, see:(http://www.truste.org/pvr.php?page=validate&softwareProgramId=102&sealid=112) for more information.
if for some reason you are unable to uninstall SweetIM please contact at:
http:/ /www.sweetim.com/help_contact.asp
best,
Iftah
Hello,
I guess you need to convince WOT also: http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/sweetim.com
Best regards. :)
lordmight
2008-11-16, 04:54
You need to convince all the people here :oops: Click here for our test.
http: // lordmight.blog.friendster.com/2008/10/sweetim-for-messenger/
Go and search SweetIM in google you would find so many complaints about it.
Regards,
LORDmight
lordmight
2008-11-16, 04:58
Oh one more thing, if you are using SweetIM it sends a hidden link to your buddy that contains spyware. XD
Oscarhugo
2009-09-23, 03:20
Could sweetim move my files around and delete my user account?:sad:
drragostea
2009-09-27, 05:38
XD, hidden links. More like tempting links with your screenname in it (makes you feel special :clown:). In most cases, the user's IM account was compromised, so there's an bot that sends out most of the dirty links (exploits).
The scorecard on SweetIM has not changed...
oscarhugo, SweetIM is considered malicious by the WOT community. Best to stick with their opinion. I doubt it'll delete your user account (assuming you mean the OS accounts), but it's not a nice guy to have on your machine. It appears to be another "smiley" program (I really have no idea, how spyware developers integrate these things into common social networking software... if it actually works :clown:).