PDA

View Full Version : updater error, error getting info



XRaiderV1
2010-04-08, 23:06
last night, i tried to check for updates to the program, and got an 'unable to retrieve info' error, I then tried to visit the site, thinking my updater was fubar.

to my lack of surprise, the site would not load, the forums would not load.

I am running spybot ver. 1.6.2.0

my os: windows 7 home premium x64
cpu: intel core2 duo, 2.0 ghz
ram: 4gb
hard disk: 500gb
graphics: intel graphics media accellerator.

browser: firefox 3.5.9
anti virus: avg(current build, current definitions, etc)
misc: malware bytes anti malware, spyware blaster, all definitions up to date.

tashi
2010-04-09, 00:26
Hello XRaiderV1,

Have you tried again since last night, normal site maintenance might have been occurring at the time.

Best regards.

sriv23sriv
2010-04-12, 10:32
I am having similar problems.. funny though i can't seem to install spybot even... any help appreciated...

pilgrym
2010-04-14, 19:20
I am having similar problems.. funny though i can't seem to install spybot even... any help appreciated...

Same problem: "Error retrieving update info file"
For me, the problem began Ap 10.10

Coincidentally, a nasty has installed itself that:
*Produces outbound traffic.
*Communication with a remote SMTP server and sending out email.
*Downloads/requests other files from Internet.

More info on the bot can be found at:
http://www.threatexpert.com/report.aspx?md5=6d6b68d01eda064a977ca2d692d27342

Kerio (Firewall) produces connection alerts along the following:


Outgoing Connection alert!

Remote
173.83.26.26.prot 80 TCP

Details
'A968C53E.EXE' from your computer wants to connect to 173.83.26.26, port 80

Details about application
c:\windows\temp\a968c53e.exe


Remote
109.196.143.61.port 80 TCP

Details
'D4ECD10B.EXE' from your computer wants to connect to 109.196.143.61, port 80

Details about application
c:\windows\temp\d4ecd10b.exe

Details
'A8C07CA9.EXE' from your computer wants to connect to 109.196.143.61, port 80

Details about application
c:\windows\temp\a8c07ca9.exe

AVG failed to remove it. I would appreciate some help in expectation SB S&D, once updated, will sort this out.



DESKTOP

i-386 Processor

2.6GHz/512MB RAM/160GB HDD

HS Cable-Modem: (Motorola SURFBoard SB5101) direct to ISP (no router)

2.6GHz/512MB RAM/80GB HDD

Windows XP (hd1) Chainloader +1

AVG 8.0.176
Winpatrol v 9.1.1.1:9.1.0.0
Spybot - Search & Destroy 1.6.0

Deb/GNU 2.6.18-5-686 Etch (hd0) Qt: 3.3.7

tashi
2010-04-14, 19:49
Hello,

Anyone needing assistance to remove malware can follow the instructions in this link to post a preliminary HJT log: "BEFORE you POST"(READ this Procedure BEFORE Requesting Assistance) (http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288)

Then start a new topic in the Malware Removal Forum (http://forums.spybot.info/forumdisplay.php?f=22) and copy paste the log into it.

If HJT won't run please start a new topic anyway, make note of the situation and a volunteer analyst will advise you when available.

Best regards. :)

pilgrym
2010-04-14, 21:00
Hello,

Anyone needing assistance to remove malware can follow the instructions in this link to post a preliminary HJT log: "BEFORE you POST"(READ this Procedure BEFORE Requesting Assistance) (http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288)

Then start a new topic in the Malware Removal Forum (http://forums.spybot.info/forumdisplay.php?f=22) and copy paste the log into it.

If HJT won't run please start a new topic anyway, make note of the situation and a volunteer analyst will advise you when available.

Best regards. :)

Hi tashi;

I appreciate the advice viz. SW Removal. Perhaps I shouldn't have suggested a linkage between two separate issues. This is the first time I've had something SB or AVG didn't handle. The conincidence made me wonder if difficulty with SB and this bot might be related.

All I'm hoping for in this thread is help d/l the SB Update. If updating and running SB doesn't remove the malware I'll go the HJ This route.

Happy trails,

rod