Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Spyware/adware undetected by SpyBot?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Spyware/adware undetected by SpyBot?

    My content filter shut off my internet because of "too many inappropriate sites attempted." I checked the record, and I've got anywhere from hundreds to THOUSANDS of hits on websites including the following:

    adsremote.scripps.com
    cyclops.prod.untd.com
    mmdl.vo.llnw.net
    63.251.77.86
    199.38.149.1
    ads.addynamix.com
    132.175.109.30
    track.searchignite.com
    track.roiservice.com
    uolnetzeronet2.112.2o7.net
    this.content.served.by.adshuffle.com
    harvest.adgardener.com
    etc. etc.

    Any ideas? I think I'm pretty up-to-date on SpyBot, so I'm surprised to see any problems at all.

    Please give any suggestions you may have!!!

    dwilcox

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32,703

    Default

    Hello.
    Quote Originally Posted by dwilcox View Post
    I think I'm pretty up-to-date on SpyBot,
    • Open SpyBot.
    • Check for problems.
    • When finished, right click and choose copy results (not the full report) to clipboard and post that into topic.


    Do you have "Resident SDHelper & Resident TeaTimer" enabled, and after updating did you "Immunize"

    Please see this topic: How Spybot-S&D protects against the installation of Spyware/Malware.
    Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2014


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Still seeing 1000's! (also, "check for problems" results)

    Thanks for your reply! I appreciate it.

    Right after my first post, I did run "check for problems" again, and "advertising.com" was found. I selected it, ran "fix selected problems," ran "Immunize," and hoped for the best. But then my latest internet activity report still shows thousands of hits to similar websites. The top six offenders this time are:

    1. cyclops.prod.untd.com 1694 ( 23.09% )
    2. cyclops.prod.untd.com 528 ( 7.198% )
    3. 132.175.109.30 497 ( 6.775% )
    4. 199.38.149.1 195 ( 2.658% )
    5. sales.liveperson.net 188 ( 2.563% )
    6. ads.addynamix.com 176 ( 2.399% )

    And the categories (ie, the 2nd and 4th) are concerning:
    News
    2034 ( 27.73% )
    News R-rated
    1698 ( 23.14% )
    OK
    1131 ( 15.41% )
    R-rated News
    528 ( 7.198%


    As you suggested, I ran "check for problems" again just now, and "advertising.com" was found again (two weeks after it was found and fixed)! Shouldn't "Immunize" prevent re-infection? (see all results from the scan pasted below)

    Re-immunized as suggested. The warning was: "29983 bad products already blocked, 5460 additional protections possible." (this must be the changes to "Immunize" in the last two weeks)

    I appreciate in advance any additional help anyone can give me! This is a head-scratcher; I am positive that for the last two weeks I'd been completely updated on SpyBot, yet I still seem to have problems.

    dlw

    Here's the output from the "check for problems" results:

    Advertising.com: Tracking cookie (Internet Explorer: Jocelyn) (Cookie, nothing done)



    --- Spybot - Search & Destroy version: 1.4 (build: 20050523) ---

    2005-05-31 blindman.exe (1.0.0.1)
    2005-05-31 SpybotSD.exe (1.4.0.3)
    2005-05-31 TeaTimer.exe (1.4.0.2)
    2006-02-04 unins000.exe (51.41.0.0)
    2005-05-31 Update.exe (1.4.0.0)
    2007-05-23 advcheck.dll (1.5.3.0)
    2005-05-31 aports.dll (2.1.0.0)
    2005-05-31 borlndmm.dll (7.0.4.453)
    2005-05-31 delphimm.dll (7.0.4.453)
    2005-05-31 SDHelper.dll (1.4.0.0)
    2007-01-02 Tools.dll (2.0.1.0)
    2005-05-31 UnzDll.dll (1.73.1.1)
    2005-05-31 ZipDll.dll (1.73.2.0)
    2007-06-06 Includes\Cookies.sbi (*)
    2007-05-30 Includes\Dialer.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\DialerC.sbi (*)
    2007-05-30 Includes\Hijackers.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\HijackersC.sbi (*)
    2006-10-27 Includes\Keyloggers.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\KeyloggersC.sbi (*)
    2007-05-30 Includes\Malware.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\MalwareC.sbi (*)
    2007-03-21 Includes\PUPS.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\PUPSC.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\Revision.sbi (*)
    2007-05-30 Includes\Security.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\SecurityC.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\Spybots.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\SpybotsC.sbi (*)
    2005-02-17 Includes\Tracks.uti
    2007-05-16 Includes\Trojans.sbi (*)
    2007-06-06 Includes\TrojansC.sbi (*)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Forgot to answer part of tashi's questions

    (Forgot to answer one of tashi's questions)

    Yes, I do have "Resident SDHelper" enabled, and have for at least two weeks now (not positive it was before my last post), set to block pages silently. Just to see it work, I set it to "popup" or whatever, and was often interrupted by "do you want to block" messages. Satisfied it was working, I set it back to "silently."

    I did not have "Resident TeaTimer" enabled; I'd never gone into Advanced mode before. Just now, I went into Advanced and enabled TeaTimer, and will hope that helps.

    Again, tashi, thanks for your help! I appreciate in advance any additional help anyone can give me! I'm not even sure if "advertising.com" was even the source of all my problems; my internet protection software classifies most of the visited websites as "R-rated" in some form or other...Once again, head scratcher!

    Thanks,

    dlw

  5. #5
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32,703

    Default

    Hi there,

    I saw your post in our malware removal forum's waiting room.

    Quote Originally Posted by dwilcox View Post

    Yes, I do have "Resident SDHelper" enabled, and have for at least two weeks now (not positive it was before my last post), set to block pages silently. Just to see it work, I set it to "popup" or whatever, and was often interrupted by "do you want to block" messages. Satisfied it was working, I set it back to "silently."
    Quote Originally Posted by dwilcox View Post
    I did not have "Resident TeaTimer" enabled; I'd never gone into Advanced mode before. Just now, I went into Advanced and enabled TeaTimer, and will hope that helps.
    It appeared that you had answered your own question.

    Are you still experiencing problems?

    Regards.
    Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2014


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •