Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Spybot does not open

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I ran the rootkit analizer and it found 4 files that it packed and removed. But spybot will still not run. any more clues or ideas?

  2. #12
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,170

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dixongrfx View Post
    I ran the rootkit analizer and it found 4 files that it packed and removed. But spybot will still not run. any more clues or ideas?
    I've added a link in my last post. Try this.
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks Matt, that got me into spybot and running a scan.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,170

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dixongrfx View Post
    Thanks Matt, that got me into spybot and running a scan.
    Good to hear.
    Please post the content of Spybot's scan result (right click after scan at the white background and choose safe results to file).
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    here are the results...

    That's what I get for trying to recover the data from a friends HD.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #16
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,170

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dixongrfx View Post
    here are the results...

    That's what I get for trying to recover the data from a friends HD.
    Let Spybot fix everything.
    If you have problems with it, try to fix it in safe mode.
    If that doesn't help you, you should go to Step # 4, but I think Spybot will do this job.
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Good news.. Looks like SB was able to clean off all it found. I ran a startup scan and a scan in safe mode and both came back clean. And Spybot no opens normally. For the sake of being thorough I will run some other virus scans. But I always get the best results with SB. Thanks for all the help.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,170

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by dixongrfx View Post
    Good news.. Looks like SB was able to clean off all it found. I ran a startup scan and a scan in safe mode and both came back clean. And Spybot no opens normally. For the sake of being thorough I will run some other virus scans. But I always get the best results with SB. Thanks for all the help.
    I'm glad that we could help.

    Happy safe surfing for the future.
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

  9. #19
    Retired
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    600

    Default

    Hello,
    please send the rootalyzer files to detections@spybot.info

    best regards,
    Markus

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MisterW View Post
    Hello,

    this problem you eyperience may be caused by an infection.
    Just to make sure you are not infected with a rootkit, please run a scan for rootkits.
    Rootkits are a technology that is more and more often used by malware to hide themselves on
    system level, making themselves invisible to standard tools. Our RootAlyzer shows you anything
    that uses certain rootkit technologies, even if it's not in Spybot-S&Ds detection database.

    The RootAlyzer is a single tool which goes through the file system, the registry and process
    related lists. When you start RootAlyzer, it performs a very quick scan of a few important places,
    taking about a second on modern machines. To check the full system, you have the possibility of
    choosing a Deep Scan.

    Currently, the RootAlyzer is a work in progress (with a new project tools category in our
    forum to track bugs and feature requests), but it's already helping to easily locate most of
    the current malware rootkits. It is compatible with Windows NT/2000/XP/2k3 and Vista.
    If you like to check out the new RootAlyzer you will find it in our forum:
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=24185

    Here is also the direct download link: http://www.spybotupdates.biz/files/r...z-0.2.1.35.zip

    Please set your computer to show all files.

    * Double-click My Computer.
    * Click the Tools menu, and then click Folder Options.
    * Click the View tab.
    * Clear "Hide file extensions for known file types."
    * Under the "Hidden files" folder, select "Show hidden files and folders."
    * Clear "Hide protected operating system files."
    * Click Apply, and then click OK.

    Please select to make a deep scan from the tab 'deep scan'.
    The scan will take a moment, please be patient.
    After the scan is done please click on 'pack suspicious files' which is located right at the bottom.
    This will create a .cab file on your desktop which contains the log and the suspicious files
    the scan has found. Please attach this .cab file to your next mail.


    Thanks!

    Best regards,
    Markus
    Team Spybot
    Thank you so much for this advice. I ran everything available for free until everything passed the scans and spybot didn't open, even though the process showed up on the process list of task manager for a couple minutes until it disappeared. Using the .scr method also worked but I don't like using little tricks, especially when there's nothing I can find that would prevent the proper methods from working.

    The program came up with a bunch of things in deep scan. Some I figured weren't a big issue but probably wouldn't be missed by any programs.
    After it packed the files and everything it seemed that my computer is running slightly faster, big improvement for this ancient thing.
    Also, should I send the .cab file to that email too? I'm still running antivirus and working with Microsoft's site so I probably missed it if you said so in the forum.

    again!

    My first post. Hi everyone!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •