Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Error: The server name or address could not be resolved

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    17

    Unhappy Error: The server name or address could not be resolved

    Hi. I having problem installing S&B 1.5. My OS Win2000Prof. with Firefox 5.0. I unnistalled my antivirus/firewall and still have the same issue.

    Error: "The server name or address could not be resolved":

    I also checked forums before I post but didn't find any real clue to solve the issue. Help would be appreciate.

  2. #2
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    Please download the new Spybot - Search & Destroy 1.5 Release Candidate 1 here:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/file...spybotsd15.exe

    Please do not forget to update afterwards.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    17

    Arrow Re:The server name or address could not be resolved

    Thank you Sandra. I just did as you suggested but I having the same resulted. The computer I am talking about is a-stand-along-computer and it does not has Internet connection. Since, I download the SS&D and try to run it.

    Sound like the reason of having/ having not Internet connection is the cause of this issue. Am I wrong?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default

    After unchecked the box "check for updates immediately" i was able to install SS&B. However, I have not be able to run the program and using the 'check for problem' button.

    We get a error: "You need to installed the detention updates first by using the integrated update or the manual update"

    (Remember: These is a stand-along computer and does have Internet connection)

    After press the button it say " No newer updates available"

  5. #5
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    Before you run your first scan you need to install the detection updates first.

    For more information on updating please have a look at this link on our website:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/howto/update.html
    You can also download the updates manually:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html
    Here is the direct download link:
    http://www.spybotupdates.com/updates...d_includes.exe
    Just download and run that file - it is self-installing.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default new

    i'm new here so don't yell at me but i have the same problem i play my downloaded game, maplestory and then like 4 days ago a wizet patcher came up and said working on a new patch but it won;t go up. and it had a message the server name or address could not be reslove D: someone help me i want to play it.

  7. #7
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,879

    Default

    kyrostarblaz:

    The problem seems to be caused by certain firewalls blocking access to the internet without notification. The solution to this problem is to skip trying to updating during the installation and update after the installation, making sure that you authorize program SDUpdate.exe to access the internet via your firewall.

    Please read my suggestion in post #5 of this thread:

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default the server or address could not be resolved

    I,m currently on asus eee pc netbook. Downloaded spybot and malwarebytes from cnet and at the end of the set ups the same error came up "the server or address could not be resolved" came up, so I read the other thread indicating that I should download spybot through safer-networking but it wont let me in the home screen or download screen this the only section of safer-networking that does tell that it cant find that link or that the link is broken help please the rest of the netbook is inaccessible hoping if I can get spybot back or malware bytes I can fix the problem

  9. #9
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    During the installation Spybot tries to download the updates.
    You can disable this function in the wizard itself.
    Just untick the check box in front of "download updates during installation" or "Download Updates immediately".
    The updates can be downloaded later on.

    For more information on updating please have a look at this link on our website.
    You can also download the updates manually.
    Here is the direct download link.
    Just download and run that file - it is self-installing.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I downloaded the spybot and when I try to start but it stops in the beginning when it starts to load. I believe the computer or virus is seeing that it is spybot and stops it. The same thing happens when I try to start Malwarebytes. I also cannot get into safer-networking.org home or download or support page or the Malwarebytes home page. I did download spybot from safer-networking.org on my home computer onto a flash drive. Connected the flashdrive to the netbook and tried to run spybot off of the flash drive but get the same results
    Last edited by ladfan4evr; 2011-05-08 at 05:59.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •