Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Best method for updating from 1.4 to 1.5

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Arrow Best method for updating from 1.4 to 1.5

    Does anyone have any suggestions for the best way to update? I have made some setting changes to 1.4, but it wouldn't be the end of the world if I lost them. It's just that I have heard that some people are having issues updating. For some reason, the update feature in Spybot isn't detecting the new version (it did for 1.4), so I guess I'll have to do it manually, which is fine. I'm sure I'll have to uninstall 1.4 first (right?). But I was wondering if there was anything else I should do so that everything goes smoothly.

    Thanks,

    -Dan-

  2. #2
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello Dan,

    You can install over the old version.
    You can download the new version here:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html
    Or choose the direct installation file

    Don't forget to update afterwards!

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybo
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Problems with new version SpyBot S&D 1.5

    Sandra suggested:

    S> You can install over the old version.

    I am a longtime user. Have XP pro running on a 2.4G Pentium on an Intel MoBo I built maybe three years ago. Spybot S&D has been part of my system for even longer.

    Several days ago I DL'd and installed 1.5 and as you suggest, did so over 1.4 with zero difficulty. After installation I noticed it took a l-o-n-g time for 1.5 to open, and while Dling updates it locked up, givjng me the 'program unresponsive' dialogue box. I closed S&D and restarted.

    Same s=l=o=w opening, and while Dling updates it locked
    up again. I uninstalled 1.5 and reinstalled 1.4 where everything is now as it was.

    Is anyone else experiencing a very slow program opening and lockups while downloading updates?

    cheers

    Wayne R

  4. #4
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    We already have located the startup problems in Spybot S&D version 1.5 and fixed it.
    Here is the download file for the fix - the new Spybot beta.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Fix for slow opening of version 1.5xx

    Sandra advised:

    S> Here is the download file for the fix - the new Spybot beta.

    Thank you. Am Dling now and appreciate the fix.

    cheers

    Wayne R

  6. #6
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    You're welcome.
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    586

    Default Not Really

    Quote Originally Posted by spybotsandra View Post
    Hello,

    We already have located the startup problems in Spybot S&D version 1.5 and fixed it.
    Here is the download file for the fix - the new Spybot beta.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Sandra, as at 17/1/2008 as far as the general public is concerned it is NOT fixed. Late yesterday friends downloaded the "latest" version from your web site (1.5.1.15) which as you are aware has an unacceptable startup time. They were not aware of the version 1.5.1.16 update/beta hidden in the forum and there is no mention of it on the home page. As a result at least two more people have had a bad experience with the product. The "fix" incidentally also contains no instructions as to what to do with the two files in the .zip. Surely the problem can only be said to be fixed when the main download version no longer has it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •