Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problems with New Version 1.5.2.20

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default Problems with New Version 1.5.2.20

    Hi,
    I am still having problems with the new Version 1.5.2.20 with Immunize function not updating the protection of Global Hosts as with Version 1.5.1.15. It justs updates everything and after a long delay it seems to have finished but there are still 14 Entries not updated in Hosts.
    With the older version one of the ways was to revert to the original unprotected Hosts File manually and then re-start Spybot-S&D and get it to Immmunize all the Protection entries rather than just the new ones.
    I have the same problem with the new Version 1.5.2.20 but when I manually restore the original Host file when I re-start Spybot-S&D I find that "Global Hosts" does not even appear in the Immunize page anymore. I had to re-copy one of the last backups re-named as Hosts to bring it back. I also tried the De-Select All and then manually select Global Hosts and Undo but it never completed the undo. It just came back after delay without any changes. The new version certainly does start quicker even on my slowest system.

  2. #2
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,142

    Lightbulb hope this helps...

    do u have any programs on your computer that would lock the host file? for example, zonealarm in advanced settings can lock your host file. When your host file is locked, spybot cannot immunize it. I know, because i have zonealarm. Any program that locks your host file can cause this issue.
    Last edited by 129260; 2008-01-31 at 04:58.
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    The only program like that I have is a-squared Anti-Malware and I have set it to give it permission for SpyBot S&D to change the hosts file.
    You were right about that. I have deleted the rule in Anti-Malware and created it anew and that has fixed it. But there is still the issue of the Global Hosts tick box setting disappearing completely from the Immunize page if the hosts file has no settings except the Loop back one in the new Version 1.5.2.20.

  4. #4
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,142

    Arrow hmm interesting...

    well, im lost beyond that point. sry. hopefully someone else can help u better.
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  5. #5
    Senior Member Yodama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Buchenheim
    Posts
    1,111

    Default

    hello,

    @thefly
    which OS are you running?
    and which are the 14 entries that do not get updated?

    if possible please attach your hosts file to your next post


    please also try the following:
    • switch to advanced mode
    • navigate to tools - hosts file
    • click on the add Spybot-S&D hosts list button
    • restart Spybot after the hosts file has been applied
    born in the shadow to die in the shadow, that is the fate of the shinobi

    Spybot S&D Downloads

    Please help us improve Spybot and download our distributed testing client.

  6. #6
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Regarding Windows 2000 and no hosts file immunization shown, that is a feature, not a bug

    Take a look at this project issue:
    Hosts file immunization and Windows 2000

    Describes two ways at least to get them back if you really want; either using a tweak, or disabling the DNS Client system service.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Yes, It is with Win 2000 that the Global Hosts entry disappears. Thanks PepiMK for the explanation and for the fix. I will try it.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I have tried the above Registry Tweak to force the enabling of Hosts Immunization in Win2000. I inserted it in

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Safer Networking Limited\SpybotSnD]
    "ImmunizeHostsOn2000"=dword:00000001

    and at

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Safer Networking Limited\SpybotSnD]
    "ImmunizeHostsOn2000"=dword:00000001

    Neither of these worked but the method Yodama suggested does the same thing not under Immunization but under Tools.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •