Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Registry change warning

Default Registry change warning

I'm new to this, so hope this my second attempt gets posted. I installed Spybot a fortnight ago (I have Vista), since when I have had a warning box appear every time I boot up saying that an important registry entry has been changed, and asking me to choose Allow; ?; Info; Deny Change. I have been choosing Allow, and things seem to work OK. But should I, and am I going to be pestered with this message for the rest of my life? The detailed message says:
    'Category: System startup global entry. Change: Value changed. Entry: Windows Defender. Old data: [a line of gobbledegook]. New data: %Program Files%\Windows Defender\MSAScui.exe.hide'
    Being only moderately computer literate, I should be very grateful for some advice.

Hello,

Please read this information about TeaTimer:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/faq/33.html
    and http://www.safer-networking.org/en/faq/34.html
    If you surf the web and without any user interaction the teatimer pops up and warns about a registry change it is better to "deny", but if you install something by yourself it is OK to "allow" the change.

Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

Thanks for the swift reply. Presumably since I installed the Spybot program, I can click onto the option to 'Allow' the registry change to take place and then click on 'Remember this' in the hope the warning box will go away and not appear again, as it gets a bit tedious clicking on 'Allow' every time.
    My understanding (limited) is that changes to the Registry can be dodgy, that's why I am making this enquiry. The links that you provided didn't mean much to me. Remember, I find computers and computer-speak challenging!!
    Regards,
    Roger

Arrow haha