Thread: Win 98

Default Win 98

I have one notebook with Win98SE and another with WinXPsp2.

Will the Spybot 1.5.2 work with Win98SE?

And, regarding the Win98SE notebook -
    If I install Spybot 1.5.2, will it work with the other programs I now have loaded?
    #1- NIS 2005 (soon to be deleted - when defs run out - and then will install AVG AV, I think);
    #2- AVG AS 7.5;
    #3- SpyBlaster 4;
    #4- AdAware SE (soon to be deleted).

I am a novice with computers and all these programs do scare me. Especially Spybot.
    (SDHelper; Create registry backup; Immunize Internet Explorer; Check for Problems with Spybot - S&D; List of found Spyware and Hijackers; Fixing listed items with Spybot - Search & Destroy; --- all of these frighten me.)

Spybot 1.5.2 currently has severe problems with Win 98 with memory usage and other conflicts. Personally I would wait for 1.5.3 to be released and hopefully that will fix the problems.
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

Default Thank you.

I will forget about installing SpyBot on my notebook with Win98.

Does anyone have any comments about second part of my post regarding installing on my notebook with WinXPsp2?

Thank you.

Lightbulb i agree

spybot latest version is causing some problems on windows 98 systems. You can however, use spybot older version 1.4 on the older machine. Go to here to download the older version for your windows 98 machine.

heres the link to download the older spybot version:

http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=spybot

you can download any old version of spybot that u want on windows 98. I would recommend version 1.4 without teatimer. Or choose version 1.3 your choice. these are known to work perfectly fine under windows 98.

as for your laptop, it should work fine! You have no conflicting software.

Lightbulb

Don't forget to install XP Service Pack 3 when it is released in a few weeks time

Arrow rly?

Quote Originally Posted by Terminator View Post