Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Freezes everytime it finishes scanning.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default Freezes everytime it finishes scanning.

    I have version 1.6.0

    Whenever it finishes scanning, it freezes as soon as I click anything. It's a bit of a problem since this is the only program I have that's finding any results, and I can't fix them when it freezes.

  2. #2
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,142

    Lightbulb hmm..

    I first suggest that you do a spybot scan, and when you go to fix the items, instead right click and copy to clipboard. post what you are trying to fix here.

    There are other things that you can try to get rid of the things that Spybot-S&D is having difficulty removing:

    1. Try to run it the next time you reboot.
    * Go into Spybot > Mode > Advanced mode > Settings > Settings > look for "System start" (located half way down the page).
    * Check the option: "Run program once at next system startup".
    * Reboot the system.
    2. Run it in Safe mode.
    * Reboot your system in Safe mode and run Spybot-S&D.

    How to enter safe mode: http://forums.spybot.info/showpost.p...29&postcount=2

    If you are running Spybot 1.6.0.30 and it still fails to correct the problem, consider posting in the Malware Removal forum and having someone take a look at your system.

    If you decide to have an experienced malware removal specialist assist you, please follow the procedure in this link to run scans and produce a HijackThis log:

    * "BEFORE you POST"(READ this Procedure BEFORE Requesting Assistance).

    After you have completed the required scans and produced the requested logs, start your own thread in the Malware Removal forum, making sure to post the HijackThis log produced from the above instructions.
    Last edited by 129260; 2008-07-26 at 04:58.
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Here's just the results:
    I have the "full report" too if this isn't good enough.


    Win32.Webdir.b: [SBI $ECA91AC6] Program directory (Directory, nothing done)
    C:\Documents and Settings\\Start Menu\Programs\AVI Codec Pack +\

    Win32.Webdir.b: [SBI $F68238A7] Program directory (Directory, nothing done)
    C:\Program Files\AVI Codec Pack\

    Win32.Webdir.b: [SBI $B07691D3] Program directory (Directory, nothing done)
    C:\Program Files\AVI Codec Pack\AC3\

    Win32.Webdir.b: [SBI $A50DC387] Program directory (Directory, nothing done)
    C:\Program Files\AVI Codec Pack\LAYER-3\

    Win32.Webdir.b: [SBI $180E2F61] Settings (Registry key, nothing done)
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\AVI Codec Pack


    --- Spybot - Search & Destroy version: 1.6.0 (build: 20080707) ---

    2008-07-07 blindman.exe (1.0.0.8)
    2008-07-07 SDFiles.exe (1.6.0.4)
    2008-07-07 SDMain.exe (1.0.0.6)
    2008-07-07 SDShred.exe (1.0.2.3)
    2008-07-07 SDUpdate.exe (1.6.0.8)
    2008-07-07 SDWinSec.exe (1.0.0.12)
    2008-07-07 SpybotSD.exe (1.6.0.30)
    2008-07-07 TeaTimer.exe (1.6.0.20)
    2008-07-25 unins000.exe (51.49.0.0)
    2008-07-07 Update.exe (1.6.0.7)
    2008-07-07 advcheck.dll (1.6.1.12)
    2007-04-02 aports.dll (2.1.0.0)
    2008-06-14 DelZip179.dll (1.79.11.1)
    2008-07-07 SDHelper.dll (1.6.0.12)
    2008-06-19 sqlite3.dll
    2008-07-07 Tools.dll (2.1.5.7)
    2008-07-15 Includes\Adware.sbi (*)
    2008-07-15 Includes\AdwareC.sbi (*)
    2008-06-03 Includes\Cookies.sbi (*)
    2008-06-03 Includes\Dialer.sbi (*)
    2008-07-07 Includes\DialerC.sbi (*)
    2008-07-23 Includes\HeavyDuty.sbi (*)
    2008-07-10 Includes\Hijackers.sbi (*)
    2008-07-08 Includes\HijackersC.sbi (*)
    2008-07-15 Includes\Keyloggers.sbi (*)
    2008-07-15 Includes\KeyloggersC.sbi (*)
    2004-11-29 Includes\LSP.sbi (*)
    2008-07-23 Includes\Malware.sbi (*)
    2008-07-23 Includes\MalwareC.sbi (*)
    2008-07-15 Includes\PUPS.sbi (*)
    2008-07-22 Includes\PUPSC.sbi (*)
    2007-11-07 Includes\Revision.sbi (*)
    2008-06-18 Includes\Security.sbi (*)
    2008-07-08 Includes\SecurityC.sbi (*)
    2008-06-03 Includes\Spybots.sbi (*)
    2008-06-03 Includes\SpybotsC.sbi (*)
    2008-07-11 Includes\Spyware.sbi (*)
    2008-07-15 Includes\SpywareC.sbi (*)
    2008-06-03 Includes\Tracks.uti
    2008-07-23 Includes\Trojans.sbi (*)
    2008-07-22 Includes\TrojansC.sbi (*)
    2008-03-04 Plugins\Chai.dll
    2008-03-05 Plugins\Fennel.dll
    2008-02-26 Plugins\Mate.dll
    2007-12-24 Plugins\TCPIPAddress.dll

  4. #4
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,142

    Lightbulb thanks for the info

    Also, have you tried the above suggestions? Did they fix the problems? thanks!
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    586

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by mogwai View Post
    I have version 1.6.0

    Whenever it finishes scanning, it freezes as soon as I click anything. It's a bit of a problem since this is the only program I have that's finding any results, and I can't fix them when it freezes.
    Can you please post some information about your system (what operating system, what CPU, how much memory, what browser, what antivirus software etc)

    Also, can you try clearing out your temporary files and browser cache, and ensuring that the browser is shut down before running the Spybot scan.
    Last edited by Greyfox; 2008-07-27 at 02:56.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    No.. starting it in Safe Mode still didn't work. It froze as it usually does. I tried clearing the temp and cache and such too.

    Here's the computer info:

    A Dell with..
    Windows XP, 1gb of RAM, 71 GB's free, 2.53 GHZ
    I use Firefox 100% of the time. I never use IE.
    Avast Anti-Virus, Ad-Aware, Spyware Blaster.. and Spybot, of course.
    Last edited by mogwai; 2008-07-27 at 07:33.

  7. #7
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,879

    Default

    mogwai:

    Go into Spybot » Mode » Advanced mode » Settings » Settings.

    In the options tree under Main settings, is the option "Display confirmation dialogs before doing critical changes" checked? If it is checked, are you getting and getting and answering that dialog?

    In the options tree under Main settings, is the option "Create system restore point when fixing spyware/usage tracks (Win XP only)" checked? If it is checked, is a System Restore – Restore point being created?

    If "Create system restore point when fixing spyware/usage tracks (Win XP only)" is checked, is the option "Show confirmation dialog for restore points" also checked? If both are checked, are you getting and answering that dialog?

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    "Display confirmation dialogs before doing critical changes"

    This WAS checked. I'm not getting any dialogue when I do the "Fix Selected Problems".. it freezes the instant I click.


    "Create system restore point when fixing spyware/usage tracks (Win XP only)"
    "Show confirmation dialog for restore points"

    These two were NOT checked. Should I check them?

  9. #9
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,142

    Lightbulb Also....

    unless spybot fan can offer any more assistance for those items you are having problems with, (he posted a log with the entries spybot is trying to remove above) I suggest you post in the malware removal forum if you followed all my instructions here and none of them worked. There was another method besides safe mode, etc. Also always make sure you have spybot updated!!
    Last edited by 129260; 2008-07-28 at 03:27.
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  10. #10
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32,808

    Default

    2008-07-25 I suggested mogwai start a topic in the malware removal forum.

    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=31590

    An analyst would take a look at the Codec.

    Regards.
    Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2014


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •