Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: apdproxy.exe

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    port hedland wa
    Posts
    1

    Default apdproxy.exe

    Hi, my Dell Inspiron 4150, was slowed recently. Windows task manager showed the CPU was 100% occupied for long periods with apdproxy.exe taking 98% of the activity.
    could you please advise how this can be managed?
    thanks,
    john s
    Last edited by tashi; 2006-05-19 at 06:20. Reason: Topic moved from Tests forum

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    32,545

    Default

    Hello.
    Name: adobe photo downloader
    Filename: apdproxy.exe

    This is a valid program but it is not required to run on startup.

    This program is not required to start automatically as you can run it when you need to. It is advised that you disable this program so that it does not take up necessary resources. The following information is a brief description of what is known about this file.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/star...exe-14070.html

    Hope that helps, if it doesn't you might want to post a log so someone can take a look at the system.

    Please open Spybot>Help>About
    Let us know the version and latest detection update.
    Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2014


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi John,

    If you really want to disable the prozess - install Autoruns from http://www.sysinternals.com/

    and disable it's logon.
    Hope that helped.

    Quote Originally Posted by john s View Post
    Hi, my Dell Inspiron 4150, was slowed recently. Windows task manager showed the CPU was 100% occupied for long periods with apdproxy.exe taking 98% of the activity.
    could you please advise how this can be managed?
    thanks,
    john s

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default apdproxy.exe

    I am experiencing similar problem, having installed Photoshop Elemets 5. What is the best way of disabling this on Start Up. If I use msconfig I get a regular message saying I have altered arrangements and inviting me to restore to default. I have had a look at Autoruns, but am always nervous about adding additional programs

    tks

  5. #5
    Retired Security Volunteer
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    753

    Default

    What happens if you accept the changes made?

    msconfig is not the best way to disable programs from starting up...

    Try this tool if you're not comfortable with autoruns.

    Windows Startup inspector. It is really easy to use.

    http://www.windowsstartup.com/isw2.exe
    AngelFire777

    Proud member of UNITE and ASAP since 2006.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Windows Start Up Inspector

    This is a very neat utility and is just the job. Many thanks for bringing it to my attention

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •