Thread: S&D loads only partway, "Access Violation" error, nothing scanned

Default S&D loads only partway, "Access Violation" error, nothing scanned

I've been running Spybot S&D for almost five years now, through several versions. I'm still on the same computer but recently had to reinstall Windows to a new hard drive when my old one became erratic. That was when the trouble started.

Here's what consistently happens:

-- I click on the Desktop shortcut to "C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe"

-- After a while, maybe 5 or 10 seconds, the usual low, wide "Loading Spybot - Search & Destroy..." window appears and the blue progress "bar" begins growing from left to right.

-- In the past, when SpybotSD was loading normally, it used to take quite a while, maybe 30 seconds, for the progress bar to extend all the way across. Instead, after only a few seconds (and with the bar only 4 squares long), it hesitates for a moment, then a dialog pops up:

-----------------------------------
    Error
    (X)
    Access violation at address 007B6945 in module 'SPYBOTSD.EXE'. Read of address 5976C4C2
    [OK]
    -----------------------------------

After I click the "OK" button the bar quickly grows by two more blocks, then disappears and the Spybot S&D main window opens -- a much shorter loading time than normal. If I click "Check for problems", the scan is ridiculously brief (a second or so) and the logfile reports that 0 objects were actually scanned.

-- If I go (in Advanced Mode) to Settings | File sets, the white box where I'd expect to see the file sets is utterly empty. If I click on "(?) Help" I get the error message:

------------------------------
    Help
    Cannot open the file: ::/html/filesets.html
    [OK]
    ------------------------------