Results 1 to 10 of 694

Thread: SPAM frauds, fakes, and other MALWARE deliveries - archive

Threaded View

  1. #10
    Adviser Team AplusWebMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,289

    Angry Malicious Excel XLS file...

    FYI...

    - http://www.f-secure.com/weblog/archives/00001649.html
    April 7, 2009 @ 11:10 GMT - "We see targeted attacks and espionage with trojans regularily. Here's a typical case. A malicious Excel XLS file (md5: 3c740451ef1ea89e9f943e3760b37d3b) was emailed to a target - apprently to just one person... The exploit code creates two new DLL files to the SYSTEM32 folder ("apimgr.dll" and "netserv.dll") and executes them. These DLL files are backdoors that try to communicate back to the attackers, using these sites:
    • feng.pc-officer .com
    • ihe1979.3322 .org
    Right now, host ihe1979.3322 .org does not resolve at all, and feng.pc-officer .com resolves to a placeholder IP (which is 63.64.63.64). The attackers can temporarily make the hostname resolve to the real IP address and then turn it back, to hide their tracks. The domain name pc-officer .com is a weird one. It has been registered already in 2006, and it has been used in targeted attacks before. See this ISC blog entry from September 2007*. Here the attack was done via a DOC files, instead of XLS. And the reporting server was ding.pc-officer .com, not feng.pc-officer .com. If you haven't read about Ghostnet** yet, now would be a good time..."
    * http://isc.sans.org/diary.html?storyid=3400
    ** http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GhostNet

    (Screenshot available at the F-secure URL above.)

    Update: "... IP 63.64.63.64 is just a placeholder; 216.255.196.154 is the real control server. They only bring it online sporadically, trying to avoid detection.
    The IP is located in Spokane, USA:
    % whois 216.255.196.154
    OrgName: One Eighty Networks
    OrgID: OEN-1
    Address: 118 N Stevens
    City: Spokane
    StateProv: WA
    PostalCode: 99201
    Country: US ..."

    Last edited by AplusWebMaster; 2009-04-08 at 14:52. Reason: Added update info...
    This machine has no brain.
    ....... Use your own.
    Browser check for updates here.
    .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •