Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Immunization Incomplete (different problem)

  1. #1
    Junior Member awa413's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    5

    Default Immunization Incomplete (different problem)

    So I try and immunize and get the error Immunization Incomplete. It says that "other security software on my computer might not look close enough at the immunization changes ..." ---- you know the window right?

    Well here's the kicker - I don't have ANY anti-virus program installed on my computer or variants or reminants. So, what gives?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    Which windows version do you have?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  3. #3
    Junior Member awa413's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spybotsandra View Post
    Hello,

    Which windows version do you have?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Windows XP MCE, SP3

  4. #4
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    Which browser and browser version do you use exactly?
    Which items are not immunized exactly?
    Did you close the browser while immunizing?
    Did you try to undo the immunization and then immunize again?
    Have you also used the "Check again" function from the menu bar above?
    If that does not help please also try to click a second time on the immunization tab.
    Sometimes all items get immunized by the second run.
    Are you logged in as admin or as user with admin rights?
    Do you have other user accounts on your pc?

    Could you please post a screenshot of the immunization page?
    Thanks.

    Also have a look at this link in our forum.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Junior Member awa413's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spybotsandra View Post
    Hello,

    Which browser and browser version do you use exactly?
    Which items are not immunized exactly?
    Did you close the browser while immunizing?
    Did you try to undo the immunization and then immunize again?
    Have you also used the "Check again" function from the menu bar above?
    If that does not help please also try to click a second time on the immunization tab.
    Sometimes all items get immunized by the second run.
    Are you logged in as admin or as user with admin rights?
    Do you have other user accounts on your pc?

    Could you please post a screenshot of the immunization page?
    Thanks.

    Also have a look at this link in our forum.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

    Internet Explorer 8
    Yes, I closed the browser window while immunizing
    Undoing and redoing immunization procedure produced the same results
    Tried immunizing more than once
    Yes, logged in with Admin rights
    No other user accounts on PC
    That link you posted is useless to me and nothing there applies to my specific situation

    Screenshot posted

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by awa413; 2012-05-03 at 10:15.

  6. #6
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    Seems like you did not activate the checkbox on front of "Global (Hosts)".
    What happens if you activate it by ticking it and then immunize?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Junior Member awa413's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Of course not. If I activate Global hosts, I will then have duplicate entries since IE8 places the same bad sites in Windows Hosts file, and IE8 will take even longer to load. There's no need for it if the hosts are being used by another provider. If you look in the Internet Explorer\Software\Domains (above the Global Hosts listing in the S&D window I sent), you can see that it is the same number of domains as the global hosts file (and the same files). No need for duplicates - and how does checking or unchecking that box relate to the immunization error I am receiving, referring to anti-virus protection/programs?

    I've used S&D for years with the same settings and never once got this error - AND I had anti-virus protection installed and running at the time...

  8. #8
    Senior Member spybotsandra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,276

    Default

    Hello,

    Then you gave the answer to yourself why you get that error.
    That are exactly the not immunized Hosts files which you can see by the number 15237 besides it.

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Follow Spybot on Twitter

    There is no support for unsolicited PM requests available. Please use the board section which accords to your product. Thanks.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    236

    Default

    @awa413

    See Internet Explorer 8 issues
    Various reports from the Internet and from our own testing seem to indicate that there is a problem between Internet Explorer 8 and the immunization feature of Spybot - Search & Destroy causing a slow startup of IE 8.
    Solution at bottom.
    Update: Microsoft finally released a fix for this issue. The update has been released on June 9th. If you experienced problems with IE8 and Spybot's immunization, please download the update "KB969897" via the Windows updates or download your copy directly at Microsoft.
    If your XP is fully updated, it should already have this update, but make sure.

  10. #10
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4,252

    Default

    Of course not. If I activate Global hosts, I will then have duplicate entries since IE8 places the same bad sites in Windows Hosts file, and IE8 will take even longer to load.
    I don't understand.Maybe I'm not getting your meaning by your post,but I've never known for IE8 to add bad entries to the Hosts file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •