Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ask.MyGlobalSearch

  1. #1
    Senior Member alicez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    177

    Default Ask.MyGlobalSearch

    I just ran a scan on my WinXP and it comes up with this one item:

    Ask.MyGlobalSearch


    What is that? And what should I do please?
    Vista also Win7 (64-Bit) IE 9; MSE; SpywareBlaster; MalwareBytes; SpyBot

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4,390

    Default

    There are threat details at the top of this page:
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread...MyGlobalSearch

    Try pressing fix selected.

  3. #3
    Senior Member alicez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    There are threat details at the top of this page:
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread...MyGlobalSearch

    Try pressing fix selected.

    Oh my, all of those removal instructions are much too complicated for me. I am octogenarian and new to all of this. I would not know how to do any of those things mentioned on that page. I will try the "Fix Selected," and hope that fixes the problem.

    (I ran MSE but that didn't find anything.)
    Vista also Win7 (64-Bit) IE 9; MSE; SpywareBlaster; MalwareBytes; SpyBot

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4,390

    Default

    I didn't post the link as removal instructions,I posted it so you could see the threat details on Ask.MyGlobalSearch,in answer to your query on what it was.

  5. #5
    Senior Member alicez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    I didn't post the link as removal instructions,I posted it so you could see the threat details on Ask.MyGlobalSearch,in answer to your query on what it was.
    As I said, I looked at that page/site and it was so confusing. I still do not know what Ask.MyGlobalSearch was or how it got there, or what it actually does. Guess I will never understand computers, programs, etc.

    I did use the Fix Selected and it appears to have worked. I ran another scan and it did now show again.

    Thank you kindly.
    Vista also Win7 (64-Bit) IE 9; MSE; SpywareBlaster; MalwareBytes; SpyBot

  6. #6
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    4,390

    Default

    Glad it worked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •