Thread: Update service Stopped

Question Update service Stopped

I am a newbie on a home version of SpyBot + antivirus and I have it installed on two computers, My question is that on the top right hand corner of the home page on my laptop it has three tags Home Protection on with a green tick, Internet Protection Full with a green tick and then Update Service Stopped with a green tick.
    I am not sure what to do so I manually update it and the form comes up saying "The background updating service is not started. Do you want to elevate it using Aministrator priviledges to start it" So I do and it updates, but does this mean I have something turned off that needs turned on or is it normal and I have to do it manually all the time ?

Default correction

Quote Originally Posted by peemdee View Post
    I am a newbie on a home version of SpyBot + antivirus and I have it installed on two computers, My question is that on the top right hand corner of the home page on my laptop it has three tags Home Protection on with a green tick, Internet Protection Full with a green tick and then Update Service Stopped with a green tick.
    I am not sure what to do so I manually update it and the form comes up saying "The background updating service is not started. Do you want to elevate it using Aministrator priviledges to start it" So I do and it updates, but does this mean I have something turned off that needs turned on or is it normal and I have to do it manually all the time ?
    Where I said the home page I meant the "SPYBOT" page where is has the basic tools etc

No,that isn't normal,usually the Spybot update service stays running.
    Press the Windows+R keys to open the Run dialog,type services.msc,then press Enter.
    Scroll down until you see Spybot-S&D 2 Updating Service.Is the service set to Automatic?

yes it is set to "Automatic" in fact all 3 of the Soybot settings are set to Automatic