Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Windows security Center Disabled

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default Windows security Center Disabled

    Spybot deems having the security center disabled as being a problem. Anyone that knows anything about Windows also knows that the security center is nothing but another useless service running in the background bugging the crap out of them. Having this service disabled is NOT A PROBLEM! Why does Safer Networking assume this to be a problem? I build computers for friends, family and anyone else that wants one and have sent them to places as far away as Vancouver Island BC, Central Illinois and Eastern Ontario Canada. (I live in Western NY state) There's nothing more annoying than getting a flood of emails from customers wanting to know why the Security Center was reenabled on thier computer when I told them to leave it disabled in the first place. People just assume that if Spybot finds something they should let it fix the problem. I assume they don't look through the list to actually see what Spybot found and really don't think most people do. Please remove this from the Spybot detection list! Spybot should detect spyware, not services being disabled. Yes, I'm aware that something serious could possibly disable the security center but I highly doubt spyware could do that. Something much more malicious would be required. I find Spybot to be a useful tool for myself but I won't be recommending it to anymore customers because of this pain in the ass detection rule.

    ATOUK

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Had the same problem. After Spybot's 'clean up', I can't get the limitlessly irritating security center notifications to go away. Every three or four days the little red shield reappears in the task tray and I have to reset the 'don't notify me' option in 'Change the way Security Center alerts me'. Does anyone know of a permanent - 'don't notify me ever again as long as I live' - fix for this?

  3. #3
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,816

    Default

    Please see here:
    http://www.spybot.info/en/faq/46.html
    It tells how to put those detections in the ignore list,if you set them yourself.

    The little red shield will pop up if your firewall is off and/or your antivirus is off or out of date,and also if Automatic Updates aren't set to the recommended setting.I hope you don't mind me asking,but,why did you change the way Security Center notifies you?What is Security Center alerting you about?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I hope you don't mind ME asking, Zenobia, but have you ever asked yourself what would happen if a ruthless software giant, with total access to its previous customer base of installed platforms (through 'automatic updates') were to decide to 'encourage' the sale of their latest white-elephant by making the previous product run just a little bit slower than it needs to?

    When you've thought about that, maybe then you could ask me why I am just a little bit reluctant to entrust the 'security' of my system to a company with an actual market interest in the degredation of its performance!!!

    And BTW, Vista acknowledges the reality of this annoyance by providing a 'don't notify me at all' option in Security Center.

    But I would still like to know how to achieve that in XP, if anyone knows.

  5. #5
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,816

    Default

    So,apparently,you did mind me asking?

  6. #6
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,879

    Default

    PCPlod:

    If you still what an answer to the following:

    Quote Originally Posted by PCPlod View Post
    Does anyone know of a permanent - 'don't notify me ever again as long as I live' - fix for this?
    And

    Quote Originally Posted by PCPlod View Post
    … And BTW, Vista acknowledges the reality of this annoyance by providing a 'don't notify me at all' option in Security Center.

    But I would still like to know how to achieve that in XP, if anyone knows.
    A logical starting point would be to answer Zenobia's question:

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    What is Security Center alerting you about?

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Security Center is alerting me that automatic updates is disabled. I tell it not to, and two days later it has reset itself and is doing it again. I've even tried disabling wscntfy.exe using msconfig, but to no avail.

    Like Atouk said, who originated this thread: "Having this service disabled is NOT A PROBLEM!" I completely agree but I am beginning to wonder whose side Spybot thinks it is representing these days.

  8. #8
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,879

    Default

    PCPlod:

    I'll assume that the original detection (problem) that you received and fixed with Spybot-S&D was:

    Code:
    Microsoft.WindowsSecurityCenter_disabled
    Settings HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wscsvc\Start!=W=2
    That detection (problem) indicates that Spybot-S&D found that the registry entry that controls the starting of Windows Security Center was not set to Automatic. By fixing the detection, you set the registry entry that controls the starting of Windows Security Center to Automatic.

    I suggest that you try resetting the start of Windows Security Center to disabled to stop the running of Windows Security Center as follows:
    • Click Start then Run.
    • Type "Services.msc" (no quotes) in the Open block.
    • Click OK.
    • When Services dialog opens, scroll down in the right pane and locate the "Security Center" entry in the list.
    • Double click on the entry.
    • In the Security Center Properties (Local Computer) dialog set the "Startup type" to "Disabled".
    • Click Apply.
    • If the "Service status" is Started, click Stop.
    • After Windows Security Center ends, click OK.
    • Exit from the Services dialog.
    • Rerun a Spybot-S&D "Check for problems".
    • When you get the following detection (problem):

      Code:
      Microsoft.WindowsSecurityCenter_disabled
      Or expanded (+ to the left of the detection):

      Code:
      Microsoft.WindowsSecurityCenter_disabled
      Settings
      LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wscsvc\Start!=W=2
      1. Left click on the detection to highlight it.
      2. Right click on highlighted detection.
      3. Select "Exclude this product from further searches" from the list of options.


      Spybot-S&D should no longer detect that Windows Security Center is disabled during future scans.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  9. #9
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    3,816

    Default

    PCPlod,I have Security Center disabled myself(for reasons other than yours),but I've been taught to tell people how to disable it only if they are well-protected,so that is why I was asking.I did not want to tell you how to disable Security Center if your antivirus was off,or out of date,or you had no firewall,and that was why Security Center was notifying you,until that had been dealt with.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thank you, Spybot Fan for that actually useful how-to on excluding things from future scans, and Zenobia, you are right, it would be dumb to disable the SecurityCenter if the there was a real security vulnerability.

    What I was really after was a (Windows) how-to on fixing that SecurityCenter annoyance, but you guys are very specific to your Spybot mission... and that's fair enough. Keep up the good work!

    BTW: Another user just told me by phone - which I didn't know - that Spybot lets you choose the server for downloading updates (button to the right of 'Search for Updates' in the Update window) which can sometimes be very slow. He recommended the XTeq server as being fast.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •