Thread: Spybot 1.5.1.18 & Firefox Slow Down

Question Spybot 1.5.1.18 & Firefox Slow Down

Hello,

I've been using Spybot for several years now, with no real problems. Today I updated to the latest release posted at these forums (spybotsd152rc1.exe). Now Firefox has slowed way down. This happens on 2 machines. No other changes were made to either system.

WinXP Pro - Firefox 2.0.0.11
    Firefox seems to hang after a link is clicked ... like it's thinking ... aprox. 10 seconds? Once it finishes thinking the URL loads normally. This happens on cached pages as well as new visits and pages on the same domain. IE 6 on the same machine runs fast and as usual.

Win2k sp4 - Firefox 2.0.0.11
    The same behavior can be duplicated on my Win 2k PC. I did try the "dns client" fix located in the Spybot FAQ, but it didn't seem to make any noticable difference. Again IE 6 is fine.

Any help, suggestions, idea, would be most appreciated.

Thanks!
    LM

The slowdown of Firefox might have happened if you Immunized Firefox,due to a large amount of entries in the hostperm.1 file.You could try unimmunizing some things in Firefox,and see if things are any better.A lot of people with the Firefox slowdown problem seem to unimmunize Images,Installations and Popups,and just leave Cookies immunized,but it's up to you.
    If you'd like to unimmunize part of Firefox,open Spybot,hit Immunize to the left.If you rightclick in the Immunization window to the right,you can select deselect all.Then,checkmark the Immunizations for Firefox you would like to remove,then hit Undo.

Thumbs up Thank You Zenobia!

Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    A lot of people with the Firefox slowdown problem seem to unimmunize Images,Installations and Popups,and just leave Cookies immunized,but it's up to you.
    Thank you Zenobia!

Just unimmunizing cookies didn't work, but if I unimmunize all of the FF entries my FF browser is back to working on my systems.