Spybot Logo
Go Back   Safer-Networking Forums > Software > Spybot-S&D > False Positives
Register ProjectsBlogs FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Home Support Download Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2008-08-21, 09:00   #21
blues
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yodama View Post
confirmed as a false positive,
will be corrected soon
good

but it is strange that others are able to visit the site and not me. how is that possible when it is blocked by spybot?

Last edited by blues; 2008-08-21 at 09:01.
blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-08-21, 09:37   #22
blues
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 509
Default

drragostea: tinyurl.com and www.tinyurl.com is in spybots hostsfile, i saw it. what you say is wrong. i have tried to use only spybots hostsfile and it was blocked. spybot is updated.

Last edited by blues; 2008-08-21 at 09:41.
blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-08-21, 13:24   #23
saferat
Junior Member
 
saferat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ITALY
Posts: 1
Default I confirm... problem with tinyurl.com

I can confirm what blues said.

TINYURL.COM is present in the HOST file and it is "in the entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy". I use only Spybot to manage the host file, then no other software may be held liable.

The problem appeared only after the last update (20/08/2008). I am using Spybot S&D 1.6.0.30 on WinXP.

Tinyurl is absolutely NOT a malware site.

I solved the problem deleting the tinyurl entry from the host file:
--------------------------------
127.0.0.1 www.tinyurl.com
127.0.0.1 tinyurl.com
-------------------------------

I rebooted the system and now tinyurl work regularly.


-0--0--0--0--0--0--0--0--0--0--0--0-


@ blues
but it is strange that others are able to visit the site and not me. how is that possible when it is blocked by spybot?


Probably not all the Spybot users use the IMMUNIZATION function or, more simply, they don't have updated Spybot with the last definition released yesterday (20/08/2008, wednesday).

Last edited by saferat; 2008-08-21 at 13:28.
saferat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-08-21, 14:14   #24
blues
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 509
Default

i decided to stop using all the hostsfiles including the spybot hostsfile because it is boring to not see ads/pictures at all, i will rather see ads for things i like instead for error messages or blank spaces all over the place when something is blocked, but tinyurl is still blocked by the sd-helper and the counter goes up everytime i try to visit the site but it is no big deal for me but it may be annoying for others that want to visit tinyurl. but Yodama said it will be fixed so then it is nothing to worry about anymore.

have you really updated spybot drragostea? i mean to the latest detection rules.

Last edited by blues; 2008-08-21 at 14:20.
blues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-08-21, 16:16   #25
drragostea
Spybot Forums Helper
 
drragostea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: @Home
Posts: 3,668
Blog Entries: 2
Default

You got me there (latest definition updates). At least we know that it was a false positive after all.
__________________
DK.
drragostea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-08-21, 17:18   #26
neurotran
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default FP? tinyurl dot com in hosts file

1.6.0.31 on Win XP Pro 20/08/2008 update
tinyurl.com is inserted into hosts file and bookmark's 'detected' during scan.
neurotran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-08-21, 17:19   #27
spybotsandra
Member of Team Spybot
 
spybotsandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,904
Rated LASSHes: 1,570
Default

Hello,

It is a false positive that wil be fixed:
http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=32935&page=3

Best regards
Sandra
Team Spybot
__________________
Follow Spybot on Twitter
spybotsandra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-08-22, 19:43   #28
tashi
Member of Team Spybot
 
tashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 23,455
Rated LASSHes: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saferat View Post
I can confirm what blues said.
Yes as already stated:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yodama View Post
confirmed as a false positive,
will be corrected soon
Unfortunately with all the posts in this topic, (three pages), it is quite difficult for Team to wade through, or for other members to find any response from Team.

FYI: This particular sub-forum is really for users to report possible F/P's and wait for a detective to respond.
__________________
UNITE-ASAP

Microsoft MVP. Consumer Security 2006-2010

Please help us improve Spybot, download our distributed testing client
tashi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
false positive, tinyurl

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:58.


Copyright © 2000-2010 Safer-Networking Limited. All rights reserved.