|
|
|||||||
| Register | Projects | Blogs | FAQ | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|
#1 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
|
* Operating System: Windows XP Professional
* Browser and Version: Internet Explorer 7 & FireFox 3.0.1 * Version of Spybot S&D and Date of the latest update: 1.6.0.31 10/09/2008 * where did the false positive occur: not reachable/restricted website ViralURL.com & www.ViralURL.com website not reachable (listed in Global (Hosts)) My name is Frank Bauer, co-owner of the ViralURL.com link protection service. Our domain had been added to your software in June 2008 and we have since then tried to contact you to find out... a) Why it has been listed and b) what we can do to get it off your list. If there is anybody I could call and talk to, that would be great. Best regards, Frank Bauer Director of Add2it.com Marketing Pty Ltd Co-owner of ViralURL.com PS: I do speak English and German, if that's of any help. |
|
|
|
|
#2 | ||||
|
Member of Team Spybot
|
A quote from your website:
Quote:
Quote:
That sounds a lot like a spam network and some kind of pyramid system. It also appears that your whole busyness is based on distrust against end users: Quote:
Quote:
How are your users supposed to "promote" their new links? Through email like mentioned above? Your site tells alot about how good using your service is supposed to be but you do not clearly state how that is actually done. There is also no information about privacy. Additionally the whois information is anonymized which is very suspicious for a legit company. |
||||
|
|
|
|
#3 | |||||||
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
|
Hello Yodama,
Quote:
As they (and you) can read in there, in order to provide this service for them for free, they agree to receive messages from other members through our system. They only email address is not passed on to anybody and they can upgrade or unsubscribe to stop receiving messages at any time. Also, as you can see there we only pay commissions on on personal referrals that upgrade their account (only on service product sales). So it's not a pyramid system either. If you are interested to see what our customer say out our service, visit: http://viralurl.com/testimonials.php Quote:
Quote:
Cloaking affiliate links is 100% legal and there are no legal consequences in doing this. In fact... many affiliate program owners higher encourage to cloak your links. Quote:
Quote:
General overview over the ViralURL System - http://viralurl.com/video-overview.php?aff=presents ViralURL Cloaking Section Tutorial - http://viralurl.com/video-cloakingse...p?aff=presents ViralURL Advanced Cloaking Section Tutorial - http://viralurl.com/video-advancedcl...p?aff=presents ViralURL Email Section Tutorial - http://viralurl.com/video-emailsection.php?aff=presents Quote:
Quote:
Please let me know if you have any other issues in regards to removing ViralURL.com from your database. Thank you and warm regards, Frank Bauer Co-owner of ViralURL Director of Add2it.com Marketing Pty Ltd |
|||||||
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
|
I just upgraded SpyBot and see ViralURL.com is STILL falsely listed.
When does this company plan to fix their false accusation? Best regards, Frank Bauer Co-Founder of ViralURL.com Director of Add2it.com Marketing Pty Ltd |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member of Team Spybot
|
We appreciate that you made some changes to your site, it is still in review and you will be notified here if we change detection on your site.
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
|
How much longer do you estimate will your company need to recognize that ViralURL is not a thread to anybody?
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
|
Hi Spybot Team,
I am Frank's partner, the other owner of ViralUrl. As you can see we have TrustGuard on our site, we have hundreds of positive testimonials, we act VERY FAST to suspend ANY member who spams (as soon as it is reported, we mail the member and suspend their account). Basically we run a very legitimate and Professional online business. Frank below answered every question you had and went into a great deal of depth. Please see that we do fully comply and please remove us from your block lists. Thank you very much for the good work you do and in advance for correcting an error Colin Klinkert Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
|
Hi Spybot Team,
Been a week since my last post, wondering if anyone has seen it yet? If so can you please give us an answer? Thank you for your time |
|
|
|
|
#9 | |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
|
Quote:
While I do not pass judgment on SpyBot for taking the offensive on errant websites, I do feel that you guys are victimised without proper investigations but just plain fear and witch-hunting. Besides, spam has nothing to do with malware or spyware. While spamming is against the law, it affects the mailboxes. Malware and spyware affects the browsing experience and plants trojans and worms for devious intentions. That's why I have protection using Spybot Search and Destroy. However, recently, while Spybot returns that my computer has a clean bail of health, BUT when I scanned my computer with AVG and Adaware, it picked up at least 14 trackers/dataminers and 3 trojans. This has been happening for the last two months. Does not look right. Who do I trust? Anyway, back to your plight. By the way, can you kindly stop your following affiliate from spamming my mailbox please? I have received close to a hundred duplicated mails today from this spammer. I do not mind advertising mails but no spamming in the hundreds of the same content please. Refer to this cloaked link generated using ViralUrl.com: http://vur.me/makebig/PushMakeMoney/ The affiliate's email address: "Push The Button Marketing" <dbiggestlaunches@ gmail.com> Hey, I also noticed that all your links, including www.viralurl.com, return with broken links. What is happening? Your hosting server is acting up, I think. Last edited by tashi; 2009-01-23 at 23:28. Reason: Disabled PushMakeMoney link and email address |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member of Team Spybot
|
As for "14 trackers / data miners"... tracking cookies are something that is often detected "for counts".
When we started, we didn't want to add any at all. Just switch your browser to not accept third party cookies and you're good (inofficial howto's from me here). But people came along complaining, and public perception of what is unwanted is something we have to take care of as well. Still, we try to not add more unless really wanted by many users. In 2.0, we'll have a scale from 1 to 10 regarding the threat level, and guess what, cookies (aka tracking cookies, trackers, data miners, ...) are 1, the lowest score ![]() I don't have any exact information on the viralurl.com review process, but looking at the name alone makes me look twice, and visiting the site only to be stopped by a popup when trying to close it are not really giving me a good feeling. As for cloaking, since I read it above, it may be legal, but is it legit? From a moral standpoint, I want to know if someone recommends something out of financial interest or believe, and affiliate IDs in links do tell me that, so I personally do believe cloaking them is a moral attempt of deception (a general standpoint, haven't seen this special cloaked links). This wasn't intended to describe any reason of why we detect it or a position of the review process, it was just my personal opinion after looking at the thread and page for just a few minutes.
__________________
Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat) Last edited by PepiMK; 2009-01-23 at 23:35. |
|
|
![]() |
| Tags |
| review, viralurl |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|