Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: google redirect, spybot won't run, etc.

Default google redirect, spybot won't run, etc.

Hello! I have been having issues with my computer for the past month or so. I have had someone from spybot helping me on email, but the difference in time zones was making it difficult to get things going faster and I'm under some time pressure to fix this. Don't get me wrong, they were very helpful (and patient), but the time difference and my computer problems meant that I might not get more than one email question sent off and answered per day. I'm a novice so I'm sure I have more questions than the usual person asking for help! The person assisting me knows that I am now asking for help on the forum, so there won't be any duplication of procedures issues.

Basically, I've had the same "google redirecting" issues as other people. My McAfee no longer works and other things are having issues. Spybot will not run (I get the same "you may not have permissions to access" notice) so I cannot disable the TeaTimer which was requested before I post a HJT log. i have tried renaming Spybot without success.

We have tried Combo-fix, run a GMER log, and Rootalyzer and we did something with rootrepeal also. The next thing that was suggested was a repair installation but I haven't tried that yet.

Just let me know what you need me to do and I'll do it. I do not have a lot of experience with computers, but I am willing to learn and try whatever you think is necessary!

Thanks!

Hello wonder,

Please see this forum's FAQ "BEFORE you POST"(READ this Procedure BEFORE Requesting Assistance)

Start a new topic providing the HJT log with a link back to this one, so that helpers are aware that you have run ComboFix etc.

Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

Hi Tashi,