PDA

View Full Version : updating manually

persoi
2007-01-30, 13:54
As a computer tech i am always installing spybot on peoples computers and running them onsite. usually i have a "tools cd" which insludes spybot and others and burn off new copies every 2 weeks or month with the updates included.

currently i find that even when i download the latest manual update that i still have to download everything and in away it doesn't feel like its really doing a proper job. usually i need all the updates on a computer and its only got a dialup connection.

will it be possible to somehow inprove the manual update file so i know or at least feel like i am truly updated without having to go online at all ?

md usa spybot fan
2007-01-30, 19:05
This is not really an answer to the following question:

will it be possible to somehow inprove the manual update file so i know or at least feel like i am truly updated without having to go online at all ?
However, I have a workaround that you can try that may save you some time with dialup downloads and possibly make you:

… at least feel like i am truly updated without having to go online at all ?

When you update manually the updates made by executing the spybotsd_includes.exe are not recognized by the integrated update facility. I personally, like you, consider this to be a defect in the update facility although the Detection updates (http://www.spybotupdates.com/updates/files/spybotsd_includes.exe) on the Downloads (http://www.spybot.info/en/download/index.html) page do state:

Only needed if you do not want to use the update function integrated into Spybot-S&D.
That statement can be construed to indicate that the two update methods are not interchangeable or compatible.

There is a trick to getting the integrated update facility to recognize the changes to the detection rules made by manually downloading and executing the spybotsd_includes.exe file. After doing a manual update, deleted the following file: