View Full Version : Blindman is still corrupted?

2007-06-05, 07:58
Hi...brand new forum user here, though I have had Spybot S&D for a couple of years, and very much appreciated it; thank you guys! :bigthumb:

My problem is, the last 2 times I updated Spybot, when I click on Search for Updates, it gives me a warning message saying: 'The external "Blindman" application has been corrupted. Please use the update function to get it again.'

However, after updating, it keeps giving me that message anyway! So how do I get Blindman again?

2007-06-05, 11:22

It seems that you have deleted the blindman.exe by a Norton fault.

Several users have reported the same error with the "blindman.exe" file.
This is a false positive by Norton AntiVirus.
(A false positive occurs when the scanning reports a threat when in fact there is no threat present)
The problem occurred in Nortons latest update in the 30 May 2007 rev.020 Intelligence Update and LiveUpdate definitions,
and was fixed as soon as it was brought to Nortons attention.

The fix was made available in LiveUpdate and Intelligent Updater virus definitions, specifically version 90530ao (Sequence number: 69179; extended version 05/30/2007 rev.041).

The file blindman.exe file is completely harmless, as you can see on:

This posts in our forum might also help:

We recommend a fresh install of Spybot - Search & Destroy.

Please uninstall your version of Spybot - Search & Destroy considering the following link:
It is important to use the "very small fix".

Then make a fresh install of Spybot - Search & Destroy 1.4.
You will find links to several download locations on our website:

You will also have to update your new version using the integrated updater. This should solve the problem.

Best regards
Team Spybot