PDA

View Full Version : clean update 1.5.1.13 (language)



benoit
2007-07-13, 10:34
Hello,

i receive ALL language in spite of i don't ask all language

PepiMK
2007-07-13, 12:29
Hmmm... let me take a look... you received all language files (but not help etc. in other languages)?

Looks like it might be that the installer is not able to do an "or" operation on conditions. I made the installer itself multilingual, supporting nearly every language. For each file that may be installed, I can give two arguments:

1. "install if languages selected"
2. "install if user chose installation language X".

Using the first, or both, wouldn't install it if the user selected his language during installation, but not the languages package. Using only the second would make the languages option useless. So currently I'm using none for those languages that are supported by the installer as well (the option just toggles additional files).

I created an entry for this problem here (http://forums.spybot.info/project.php?issueid=13) :)

Rosenfeld
2007-07-13, 13:42
I did a clean install of 1.5.1.13 (i.e. a prior uninstall of 1.5.1.12 and cleanup of all folders and registry entries).

I also had languages unchecked during install, but have the languages folder with 51 .sbi files in it, so confirm benoit's findings.

Also, I noticed a slightly odd behaviour relating to updates:

During install I checked the box download updates immediately. It did indeed go and get them. There was a slightly confusing box asking me to select the folder where the updates were to be installed. I selected C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy (which must already been created by the install, since I had taken care to delete it prior to clean install) and that seemed to be right, as the .sbi files showed up in the includes subfolder; but it might be helpful to indicate what folder one should be looking for (e.g. a note saying 'select the folder in which you have installed Spybot'), or better still arrange it to scan the drive to find the folder automatically.

[EDIT: the box asking for the folder was the Windows one, showing explorer like tree structure and including the button option to create new folder; so this may be a Windows thing, that the download during install lacks info to tell Windows where to put the downloaded files?]

Then, after completing the install, I checked for updates, and was surprised that it found and redownloaded all the updates it already had downloaded during the install, as well as the beta.sbi I had set it to look for and a few optional (unchecked) ones that one might reasonably expect not to be included in the essential updates downloaded during install, such as targets.nfo.

Subsequent check for updates worked OK (i.e. it said no updates found).


Otherwise looking good: tracks not showing bug fixed. Immunize new look screen allowing selection of categories to immunize works well.

Still a few internals flagged as wrong uninstall path because Spybot apparently gets confused by command switches added after the path to the uninstall file, that some apps add to the uninstall line.

XP SP2, IE 7, all updates.

wk357mag
2007-07-13, 15:23
I also had languages unchecked during install, but have the languages folder with 51 .sbi files in it, so confirm benoit's findings.

<snip>

Otherwise looking good: tracks not showing bug fixed. Immunize new look screen allowing selection of categories to immunize works well.

Language Files: I noticed this as well, but thought it to exspected. During the install I choose to NOT install the languages, as I dont need them. I actually uncheck all options during install, so, I dont even go check for updates during the install. I do this after. But these language files are all installed anyway. I do manually delete them, but guess they shouldnt be there. So I confirm this installer issue with these other two guys.

Tracks bug is fixxed for me too.

LOOOOOOVE the new Immunization screen!!!

ANother thing: Not a real problem, but I notice a DELAY when opening a screen. Go to SETTINGS --> IGNOR PRODUCTS, when opening this screen, there is a delay here, that wasnt present in 1.4. This may be ok, just thought I should comment if there is no known reasons for it.

My rig: WinXP (sp2) fully updated, P4c-3000@3500mhz, 1024mb ram Cas 2.5,3,3,7, 10,000rpm Raptor HD's

benoit
2007-07-13, 15:42
Hello,

the problem that I had mentioned about the selection of the items (update english language) that I do not want download is solved. Thanks.

the language i have is french it's perfect but i don't need all the other.

thanks

Rosenfeld
2007-07-13, 20:51
ANother thing: Not a real problem, but I notice a DELAY when opening a screen. Go to SETTINGS --> IGNOR PRODUCTS, when opening this screen, there is a delay here, that wasnt present in 1.4. This may be ok, just thought I should comment if there is no known reasons for it.


Don't get any dealay opening that screen here.

wk357mag
2007-07-14, 02:00
at the point that I click that page, its takes 3 seconds to open it

benoit
2007-07-14, 11:09
Hmmm... let me take a look... you received all language files (but not help etc. in other languages)?

Looks like it might be that the installer is not able to do an "or" operation on conditions. I made the installer itself multilingual, supporting nearly every language. For each file that may be installed, I can give two arguments:

1. "install if languages selected"
2. "install if user chose installation language X".

Using the first, or both, wouldn't install it if the user selected his language during installation, but not the languages package. Using only the second would make the languages option useless. So currently I'm using none for those languages that are supported by the installer as well (the option just toggles additional files).

I created an entry for this problem here (http://forums.spybot.info/project.php?issueid=13) :)


Hello,

i see that you said it is fixed. If yes for me it's not fixed.

i take the default installation 'personnalized' and i uncheck the language download and i have nevertheless all them.

PepiMK
2007-07-14, 12:46
@benoit: If you click the link where I said it was fixed (the one in the link above), you should also see this line on the issue:

Fixed Version 1.5.1.++ RC? (build 200707??)Since I assume you don't really have that version that doesn't even have a new version and build number yet, but only exists right here in my test environment, I'm not really suprised ;)

@wk357mag: I just tried and I experience a small delay as well, though probably only 1 second, and we have many more filesets internally. There actually is a way to make this appear immediate, and from a technical standpoint, it's quite easy to implement. The question would probably be though if it's worth the additional time (also for testing), I'll have to take a look where exactly this list is used and how its linked together with other stuff ;)

benoit
2007-07-14, 13:28
[QUOTE=PepiMK;104199]@benoit: If you click the link where I said it was fixed (the one in the link above), you should also see this line on the issue:
Since I assume you don't really have that version that doesn't even have a new version and build number yet, but only exists right here in my test environment, I'm not really suprised ;)


ok but it is also marked "fixed" ;-) i don't know wat are the rules to see a case is fixed or not.

Title / Submitted Status Priority
Installer always installs all language files Fixed 4


Thanks for all wat you do.

wk357mag
2007-07-14, 16:16
@wk357mag: I just tried and I experience a small delay as well, though probably only 1 second, and we have many more filesets internally. There actually is a way to make this appear immediate, and from a technical standpoint, it's quite easy to implement. The question would probably be though if it's worth the additional time (also for testing), I'll have to take a look where exactly this list is used and how its linked together with other stuff ;)

THe section of SB I speak of, work perfectly, just a delay in opening. I made mention of it cause it "stands out", making it remarkable! So I remarked. It may be a SIGN or SYMPTOM of a underlying problem, which might be identified with this observation, thought it may not be as well. So I thought I would mention it!

If there is no underlying problem here, that would lead the program to be less efficient, then by all means disregard this, as its just a little time on the end-users (2.5-3.0 seconds) side.

Also if it not a sign of an underlying problem, then please dont let it interfear with the release of 1.5Final, but investing time on this, that should be on something else.

wk357mag
2007-07-14, 16:19
[QUOTE=PepiMK;104199]@benoit: If you click the link where I said it was fixed (the one in the link above), you should also see this line on the issue:
Since I assume you don't really have that version that doesn't even have a new version and build number yet, but only exists right here in my test environment, I'm not really suprised ;)


ok but it is also marked "fixed" ;-) i don't know wat are the rules to see a case is fixed or not.

Title / Submitted Status Priority
Installer always installs all language files Fixed 4

Thanks for all wat you do.

Hey Benoit,

Just know that he has fixxed it and this fix will be in the next BETA release, which YOU can re-evaluate for us when he releases the next Beta test!

benoit
2007-07-14, 18:08
[QUOTE=benoit;104206]

Hey Benoit,

Just know that he has fixxed it and this fix will be in the next BETA release, which YOU can re-evaluate for us when he releases the next Beta test!

Hello,

ok yes.
I read fixed , thus i believed that it was good.
I will wait the next beta

benoit
2007-08-19, 19:32
Hello

ok for the languages franšais, esperanto and english

thanks