PDA

View Full Version : System Hangs when running SpyBot

zardiw
2007-09-14, 10:53
Hey all.

Been running SD for many years on this Win98SE System.

I'm a computer tech of some skill, and am stumped.

I never see any viruses/trojans/spyware until today. I noticed a popup that AVG blocked about a Netscape Plugin. For some stupid reason I didn't write it down, but it was a plugin in the Netscape 7.2 folder that AVG apparently deleted when I clicked 'heal'.

I immediately ran S+D (1.4), ran the update, immunize, and then when it executed it hung up the system.

Reinstalled 1.4 from a few weeks back and ran the standalone update .exe files that brought it current to 3-27-07. Scanned the system and it found one minor thing (again didn't write it down...somebody shoot me..lol) which I fixed.

Ran an update, and when it tried to execute, it just froze the system, and I finally was able to kill it with CtlAltDel.

Downloaded the current 1.5 version. At the point where it says start using the program, I hit OK, and system hung again.

When I try to execute it, the system hangs.

Also I've noticed that Netscape will not download files anymore, even after I deleted the Netscape folder and reinstalled it..........

Starting to suspect some type of rootkit. Unfortunately for me, most of the tools available don't run on Win98.

Any help appreciated. I'm comfortable with editing the registry, and anything else you all can think of.

Btw, the Shell open commands are ok for exe com, bat, etc, but that's to be expected since that's not the problem I think.

I did run the CoolShredder tool, but it didn't find it.

Also ran a complete scan of current AVG and nothing was found.....z

I think this is somehow related to Netscape in some way...something snuck in I think, but don't know.....

PS. SpyBot runs if I update with only the immu database, and all the signature files only.

zardiw
2007-09-14, 11:11