PDA

View Full Version : Tools - System Internals

bobnrobin
2006-01-16, 19:24
Using v1.4, updated.
When visiting and checking Sys.Ints., Spybot dicovers many instances of "Wrong App Path", among others. Can someone please explan exactly what transpires if I ask it to fix these entries ? Is this a type of "Registry cleaner" ? Is it likely that I would experience any ill effects, i.e., will programs no longer function as usual ? System works well and "if it ain't broke....", but in the interest of keeping things "clean" I wish to know if the fix should be run.
Thank you very much for any words of wisdom. I've been using SpyBot S&D for several years now, and it's a Really Great program/tool. FWIW, this is a much nicer Forum than the "new" Net-Integration site - where I originally found the SpyBot Forums a few years ago....
Thanks
bobnrobin

md usa spybot fan
2006-01-16, 20:03
From the System internals > Help

System internals

The windows registry contains lots of information. It's consistency can be checked with good commercial programs like Symantec™ System Works. But there are some small things I miss with those programs. Here's what SpyBot-S&D searches for:

Missing help files – the registry contains information about the location of some help files. If this information points to incorrect directories, Spybot-S&D will inform you about and allow to fix.

Missing shared DLLs – the registry contains a list of dynamic link libraries, where they are located and how many programs use them. SpyBot-S&D checks if all locations are correct and allows to change them if not.

Application paths – some applications (mostly those registered to a file extension) are registered in the registry. If they are pointing to a program file no longer existing, Spybot-S&D can change their path or delete their entry.