PDA

View Full Version : Spybot System Startup Problem, HELP!

snowangel
2007-12-11, 04:40
I'm new at using spybot, but I starting looking through the startup list to determine which programs were necessary and which were harmful. I found crypt32chain.dll and SensLogn to be harmful programs, so at first I unchecked them from the list. When I refreshed the list, they were still there, checked. Then I deleted them, but once again when I refreshed the list they were still there, checked to run when I started up my computer. I went to my Settings to look at the list of programs I had blocked, and others were there, but these two programs were not. I tried restarting my computer to see if the change would take place then, but no matter what I do, these programs won't delete from my startup menu. What do I do? Please Help!

md usa spybot fan
2007-12-11, 06:47
If you are running Windows XP and the startup entries for crypt32chain and SensLogn display as System.ini entries in Spybot 1.4 or WinLogon entries in Spybot 1.5, do not try to delete those startup entries. They are valid entries.

snowangel
2007-12-11, 22:42
They are not valid entries, I have run a check on on both of the programs and they came up as trackers/trojan horses. I need to delete them, but it won't let me.

tashi
2007-12-12, 02:34
Hello.

They are not valid entries, I have run a check on on both of the programs and they came up as trackers/trojan horses. I need to delete them, but it won't let me.

Malware can be named anything, however as md usa spybot fan already said, you shouldn't try to delete items which may be legitimate startups.

Please see:
http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=2314

To produce a log so we can take a look and give you peace of mind:

Switch Spybot S&D to advanced mode
Navigate to tools - view report
Click "view report" to generate a new report
Click "view previous report" to access older / automatically generated reports