PDA

View Full Version : Is S&D version 1.5.2.20 just too good?

Shagged
2008-02-19, 01:17
Hi fellow S&Ders,

I have been using Spybot for 3-4 years now and I always feel good when, after a session on the Internet, I clean up the crap that sneaks its way onto my machine during such exposures before shutting off my PC. This I usually do at the end of the day, just before I turn of my own internal harddisk :).

The routine has been very satisfying up to this point, because almost every time I run the program, it finds all manner of crap to kill, unless I have just updated the program. Then it usually says that there is nothing to remove.

Recently I downloaded the newest version, tossed out the old one, and installed the new one (I was in the process of downloading the new version as part of the usual update process - I run both Resident programs, Tea Timer and SD Helper - but since it downloaded at a snail's pace, I cancelled the process and did a separate download, whereupon I cancelled the old and installed the new).

To my amazement, this new application NEVER finds anything, EVER! Each time I run it, it returns a "Congratulations, you are bug-free!", or some such message. It just can't be, can it? Or does version 1.5.2.20 kill those malicious applications even before they manage to attach themselves to my hard drive??

I checked with Help and saw that all the boxes for the scan procedure were ticked as they should be, therefore I don't know what to make of it. Has anyone else experienced such a clean slate? Has Spybot gotten so good that it now acts as a firewall, or am I being shagged?

Yours,
Shagged

Niko70
2008-02-19, 01:24
Hi, I'm experiencing the same 'always clean pc' after scanning. I already posted my issue to this forum 5 minutes ago.
Stay tuned
__Niko__

spybotsandra
2008-02-19, 11:28
Hello,