PDA

View Full Version : Startup issue

blackie
2008-02-25, 01:22
HI, this is my first time at anything like this. I have some PC experience but it doesn't get to deep into the OS.

I updated S&D a few weeks ago and now every time I start the PC, Explorer opens to the C:\Program Files\Spybot dir. It just sits there until I close it. Nothing is amiss, as far as I can tell. Scans return no critical issues. I suspect a setting but haven't found anything.

Any suggestions?

Jane of Upton
2008-02-25, 05:51
Hi,

I've had the same thing happen since I updated to 1.5.2 - Each time I do a startup, the Programs>SB S&D folder opens, and just remains open until I close it.

I haven't been able to find any setting which would make it automatically open this window upon startup, either. It doesn't harm anything, and everything works fine after I close it, but its a little weird, having the program folder open each time I do a startup. Also, on occasion, it'll start up, but the task bar at the bottom of the screen is black. If i do a warm re-start using the Ctrl-Alt-Delete keys, it all is fine, other than starting with the Spybot S&D folder open right off the bat.

I'm running Win XP Professional Svc Pk 2 on a dual-processor Dell Inspiron laptop with beefed up RAM.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
-Jane

Jane of Upton
2008-02-25, 06:10
Hey Blackie,

I'd asked nearly the same question earlier today. Here's the link to the thread, and the answer posted by one of the tech folks of the Spybot Advisor Team:

http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=24766

Hope this helps!
-Jane

blackie
2008-02-26, 03:37
No luck

First I just clicked out of the "No Automation" and back in, re-booted and still got the directory.

Then I selected "Automatically run program at system startup" and re-booted. The program started and the directory opened.
I then selected "No Automation" and re-booted again.

Jane, is your issue resolved?

md usa spybot fan
2008-02-26, 06:21
blackie: