PDA

View Full Version : Retrieving my Registry entries

amirali1928
2008-03-18, 21:13
I have been using the computer for about 7 years but I do not know a thing about the technical side of the software or hardware, or even the jargon used for them. I had inadvertantly got my computer infested with malware and one very useful article I found advised use of freewares - Spybot S&D (SS&D), AVG Anti-Spyware and AVG Anti-Virus. SS&D threw up some registry entries asking me to decline or allow them. Out of sheer ignorance, I assumed SS&D was pointing out some errors in my Registry and I readily allowed them - and, to make the things worse, I did not place a tick in the box for remembering the decision. I do not know what harm have I caused to the Regisrty but so far only one thing has come to fore: When I click Tools on my Intenet Explorer 7.0, practically every thing works but 'Internet Options', when clicked, only seems to flash for a fraction of a moment and vanishes. I cannot use it except via the Control Panel. What can I do to reverse whatever I did without keeping a record of the decisions?
I have Windows XP Media Center Edition, which advises me to use Command Prompt. This in turn requires the Windows Installer (Prefetch). I have downloaded it from Windows Update but Windows cannot open it.
Sorry for being lengthy.

2008-03-18, 23:32
you can use system restore to go back a day or two before this problem arose. Click start-all programs-accessories-system tools-system restore. Choose a date at least 1 day before this incident. This process does not cause you to lose recent work, such as game saves or documents, etc.
Also, Please read this information about TeaTimer:
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/faq/33.html

and

http://www.spybot.info/en/faq/index.html

http://www.safer-networking.org/en/faq/34.html