PDA

View Full Version : Spybot eliminates a user account

mayla
2008-04-02, 16:29
I'm new to Spybot. I've been having alot of trouble with my desktop, it's very slow and it does use 100% of the CPU, it was recommend to use spybot to eliminate adware/spyware. The problem is that when I run the program it wipes out one of the user accounts, I look over all the potential spyware before I request to fix the errors, and I don't see anything that may destroy the account.

2008-04-02, 18:24
Wipes out one of your user accounts? It starts deleting your user accounts on the computer?
1.) What windows version are you running?
2.) What version of spybot?

I am concerned you are highly infected because you said the computer is very slow and runs at 100% cpu usage. I also want to mention that spybot would not delete anything like user accounts on your computer, it only deletes what is found and selected for deletion/removal. There are known viruises and spyware that can delete user accounts and basically end up destroying your pc. I personally recommend that first you try restarting your computer and boot into safe mode. To boot into safe mode, when windows begins to load, hit f8 on your keyboard until a list shows up on the screen. Select safe mode with the arrow keys on the keyboard and hit enter. When loaded into safe mode, scan with your antiviruis and antispyware software, including spybot and remove anything found. Restart.
If that does not help, or the situation gets worse,
I suggest you post in the malware removal forum.
When seeking malware assistance: please post in the malware removal forum.
before you post read this:
http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288

Here is the link to the malware removal forum:
http://forums.spybot.info/forumdisplay.php?f=22

mayla
2008-04-02, 22:17