PDA

View Full Version : Spy Bot Folder opens when starting up computer

stymied
2008-05-11, 11:26
Ever since I upgraded Spy Bot recently, a Spy Bot window opens up on my desktop whenever I start up my pc.

(It doesn't actually load the Spy Bot software - this window looks like it's opened the Spy Bot folder in My Computer.)

I'd rather it didn't open.

I'd be grateful if anyone can suggest what I can do to stop it opening up like this.

I'm new to Windows XP and the Start and Taskbar option in the Control Panel doesn't seem to give me an option to stop it opening the folder automatically. Nor can I find an option when I load SpyBot.

Also, have you any idea what I did when upgrading that allowed this to happen - just so I don't do it again.

Many thanks.

Zenobia
2008-05-12, 01:49
Is there any chance you may have renamed the Spybot - Search & Destroy folder when installing Spybot,or went into Program Files and renamed it?

stymied
2008-05-12, 07:26
Thank you Zenobia for responding to my query. I was so relieved to see I'd got a response.

However, I can't remember anything unusual about this upgrade, which was probably a little over a week ago.

I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have done anything like renaming it and definitely didn't open it in Program Files, which I tend to avoid meddling with.

When I load software, I allow the software to offer me a location, though before I accept, I look to see if it seems reasonable i.e. in Program Files and, if it's new software, in a folder with a name I would be likely to recognise, if I needed to locate it. I imagine this is what happened when I upgraded.

Certainly on this, my first laptop, I have been, if anything, extra cautious, particularly as I bought it when I retired and no longer have the techie guys at school to advise me when there's a blip.