PDA

View Full Version : WildTangent Removal

sprintcupfan
2008-05-31, 14:54
I seem to be having trouble removing some wild tangent files. It says I need to be an administrator or have the administrator fix the problems for me, I went to the folder and right clicked and run as administrator.. But that seemed not to fix it. How can I get rid of these files.. I am an administrator on Windows Vista. I went to add/remove programs and deleted all the files that said Wild Tangent.. I just need this fixed please. I am at my wits end. Dont know what else to do.

Please help me.

sprintcupfan

drragostea
2008-05-31, 16:12
Hello, sprintcupfan. From Spybot-SD... it seems that WildTangent is a PUP. Which means it is unnecessary. I believe it was installed with WMP or Winamp. I'm not so sure, because I rarely use those programs.

Is this the only account on your PC? Thus, is it Administer?
Also, are you using the latest version of Spybot-SD?
The latest is 1.5.2.20. With detection updates as of : May 28, 2008 (in US).

Terminator
2008-05-31, 18:20
Also see the FAQ HERE (http://www.spybot.info/en/faq/42.html) on Spybot and Vista.

sprintcupfan
2008-06-01, 12:15
the are other users on this computer but I am the administrator..
Are you telling me that I should not do anything about it and not worry to much about it? If so I will.. Although I did another scan yesterday and it removed a couple of files but still had registry issue..

sprintcupfan

drragostea
2008-06-01, 17:36
Are you telling me that I should not do anything about it and not worry to much about it?

We never said anything or even imply about not helping you or telling you to leave it alone. The reason why we're here is to help you resolve your problem. If we told you to leave it alone, I and Terminator wouldn't even have responded :).

Q: Who are those "people" who run as Admin? Are you a Limited Account? Is this a workstation or a personal computer at home?