PDA

View Full Version : intermitent internet:isp?nic?router?cat 5?software?maleware?greyware?zonealarm?virus?

moshy
2008-06-09, 10:38
intermitent internet:isp?nic?router?cat 5?software?maleware?greyware?zonealarm?virus?

hello i am new to using HJT and do not have a copy of my os disk as this system was bought used from a pc store .with a fresh install of xp sp3
i would rathere have guidance then folly and 20/20 hindsight ,10/10 foresight is much prefered.

(dedicated user of spybot S&D since 1998/99 or ver 1.2)
i have approxmiatly 8 yrs of personal network and computer metinence experince of several different systems and operating systems 95,98,me,xp ;compaq,gateway,dell,hp,personal builds

i have done a preboot scan with advanced detections using spybot and cleared all things i know to be bad or melishious and googeled those that i didnt. ran a full booted os scan cleared all cookies ~ java aplets, bho's
cleared all offline content ,uninstalled all old unused unwanted softwares
i am curently running free zone alarm version 7.0.473.000 behind a linksis router set up as a gateway with a cloned mac id dhcp over mediacom isp 10 down 1.5 up testeted 8 Mbyte/s down 900kbyte/s up .

i have released and renewed my router,my surfboard,my comp ;repair conection dose not fix the problem however logging of the defualt admin profile and back on corects my isue with lack of internet conection, conection tested thru several games and IE. "no conection"<<it is an intermitent problem and has only started since i started using my router again witch had been in the garage for 3+ years due to not needing it [havnt checked for updated firmware since 2002] yes it is password secured from a fresh reset before internet accses was applied to the wan