PDA

View Full Version : Can't install a thing... admin privileges gone?

Lyorna
2008-06-18, 10:47
Hi! This is my first time here but my best friend adviced me to give the pc a last chance before formatting it, which I loved since I should backup around 120 gigas...

Anyway, thing a while ago many of the programs I use began to fail for example the bs player would begin to jump after half an hour running or the winamp would skip the first two or three seconds of every song only to play them after it, before the next one. Also firefox keeps on refreshing the webpages every darn second if there's an image in it such as flickr or google images or I'm just looking at a .jpg file with it. I thought I might have some spyware or such, so I tried to run ccleaner, but after I double clicked it (either the direct access or the exe file) it wouldn't react, just as if I wouldn't have done anything at all. It worried me so I tried to run my antivirus (nod32) but it reacted the exact same way as it did with the ccleaner before. Even more worried, I tried reinstalling both prorgrammes but they said I couldn't do that because there was a previous version installed, so I uninstalled them and downloaded the latest versions and tried again... this time it said that it couldn't write the folder 'insert folder created by the antivirus while installing here' because I didn't have permission to do that. It was quite weired since I was logged in with the admin session... actually that's the only session I can log in to because even though I've got other two users in the computer there is no way to log in to them... I mean when I first turn the pc on and it enters windows there are no icons with users, it just automatically logs into the admin as if it were old win 98 with only one user.