PDA

View Full Version : some sites don't work anymore?

AngelicDevil
2008-06-19, 10:31
Hi everyone! I'm new to Spybot (just installed two days ago) and I'm not that familiar with IT, so an explanation with plain English would be lovely.

Anyway, I got some problems with spywares few days ago and found out about Spybot. After getting my laptop checked for problems and immunised, now there are some sites that seem to be inaccessible. These include: Yahoo, Facebook, Friendster. I can go to the main page of Google, but the search engine won't work. I can also go to the login page to Yahoo mail, but after logging in it would load and stop.

Yesterday I read the FAQs and found out about Hosts file that blocks some websites. I tried to modify it but I couldn't find the URL of either Yahoo or other sites mentioned being blocked, so I left it just the way it is.

Now, I start thinking maybe it's because of the immunisation.

Anyone can tell me the reason behind this and how to make those websites accessible again?

Thanks in advance, your help will be much appreciated!

md usa spybot fan
2008-06-19, 10:52
AngelicDevil:

Are you using Internet Explorer?

AngelicDevil
2008-06-19, 12:01
AngelicDevil:

Are you using Internet Explorer?

Yes, I also downloaded Opera but the same problem occured so I removed it.

Did I do something wrong? *puzzled*

AngelicDevil
2008-06-19, 12:18
Sry for the double posting.

FYI, I use Internet Explorer 7.

I had Firefox (and downloaded Opera) but same problem occured so I removed both.

md usa spybot fan
2008-06-19, 14:01
AngelicDevil:

Actually I'm a little stumped. I use Google all the time without any problems.

I initially suspected the "SDHelper" Browser Help Object which blocks advertizing URLs because people have reported problems using Yahoo under certain conditions. But since "SDHelper" only works with Internet Explorer and you indicated problems with other browsers as well, it has to be something else.