PDA

View Full Version : Tea Timer protection

hank07
2008-08-01, 19:52
Hello folks, this is my first time posting on this forum.

I've always understood Spybots real-time protection (Tea Timer) to be a registry monitor. According to the helpfile the current version of the Tea Timer extends beyond the registry:
Spybot-S&D Resident watches all applications that are being started on your computer. It knows the same bad files as the on-demand scanner of Spybot-S&D, and if it encounters an application that is known as a threat, it will automatically terminate this application.

Does this mean that Tea Timer now functions as a full blown on-access scanner comparable to other real-time spyware scanners?

Regards,

md usa spybot fan
2008-08-01, 21:54
hank07:

... Does this mean that Tea Timer now functions as a full blown on-access scanner comparable to other real-time spyware scanners? ...
I don't know exactly what you assumed in asking that question, so I can only offer the following:

Since TeaTimer was introduced in Sptbot 1.3 (spring 2004) it always had two functions:
The monitoring of changes to certain system Registry keys such as System Startup, ActiveX Distribution Unit, Browser page and Browser Helper Object, etc. When any change is detected to these Registry keys a pop-up dialog is issued asking you to allow or deny the change and if you want TeaTimer to remember the decision.
The monitoring of processes that are initiated in the system. If the process being initiated matches a list of processes in Spybot's detection files, the process is terminated and a dialog is issued to notify you and allows you to make choices as to how to handle the same process during future detections.
In the most resent versions of Spybot, it appears that the second function has been extended (expanded) to scan processes already running in the system when TeaTimer starts as well as new process started.