PDA

View Full Version : TeaTimer doesn't catch registry changes



copson
2006-04-09, 00:42
PC: Gateway E-2500S (2 weeks old)
OS: XP Home

To solve various problems setting up this new home machine, performed following steps:

1. Installed: SpybotS&D 1.4
2. Unistalled: SpybotS&D 1.4
3. Ran Windows Explorer search for files/folders containing 'spy'
4. Deleted above beloging to SpybotS&D
5. Installed: SpybotS&D 1.3
6. Uninstalled SpybotS&D 1.3
7. Repeat steps 3 and 4.
8. Installed: SpybotS&D 1.4
9. Created Inno Setup script to add string to registry: HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\tst with value of "C:\temp\tst.bat" (which does nothing)

When I run script to add registry entry, Teatimer does not respond. Entry is added with no block. Under 1.3 Teatimer caught registry change correctly.

For a newbie in computers (give or take 30 years) any ideas?

md usa spybot fan
2006-04-09, 02:38
I believe that you may have the code for the startup registry entry incorrect. Try:


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"tst"="C:\temp\tst.bat"

copson
2006-04-09, 19:55
The actual Inno Setup code (version 5.1.6) is:

[Setup]
AllowUNCPath=no
AppName=test
AppVerName=test
DefaultGroupName=test
DefaultDirName=C:\Program Files\test
DirExistsWarning=no
DisableDirPage=yes
DisableFinishedPage=no
DisableProgramGroupPage=yes
DisableReadyMemo=yes
DisableReadyPage=yes
DisableStartupPrompt=yes
OutputBaseFilename=Setup
OutputDir=Output
Uninstallable=no
Compression=zip/9
[Registry]
Root: HKLM; Subkey: "Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run"; Valuetype: string; Valuename: "test"; Valuedata: "C:\temp\tst.bat"; Flags: createvalueifdoesntexist

I am also aware that this creates directory C:\Program Files\test which can safely be deleted. I just didn't want to spend the time to write a [Code] section using InitializeSetup and RegWriteStringValue.

Anyway, this is not an Inno Setup forum.

I also apologize for my weird sense of humor. The give or take 30 years includes 26 years as Data Base Specialist with the University of Arizona. I have done a lot of user support and troubleshooting over the years.

Whatever this problem is, I need someone who has access to the Teatimer code and point out something (perhaps a registry entry or file content) that could be at fault.

Thanks for any help or direction.

md usa spybot fan
2006-04-09, 20:38
I changed the "Valuename" from "tst" to "test" to match your new sample and the following code is caught every time by TeaTimer 1.4:


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"test"="C:\temp\tst.bat"

copson
2006-04-11, 19:11
For anyone who encounters this problem here are the steps that worked:
1) Under Spybot S&D:
a) Stop Teatimer
b) Start Spybot S&D
c) Click Mode > Advanced
d) Click Tools / Resident
e) Clear checkbox for Resident "TeaTimer"
2) Power off, wait 2 minutes power on
3) Unistall Spybot S&D 1.3
4) Power off, wait 2 minutes, power on
5) Install Spybot S&D 1.4, but do not activate TeaTimer resident
6) Power off, wait 2 minutes, power on
7) Open Spybot S&D 1.4
8) Click "Search for Updates"
9) Pick Safer Networking #2 (Europe) as server. Other server might also work.
10) Click "Download Updates"
11) Click Mode > Advanced
12) Mark checkbox for Resident "TeaTimer"

Restart might work instead of power off/power on. At a quess Spybot S&D 1.3 Teatimer was leaving a registry setting that interfered with Teatimer at 1.4

Oh well, problem resolved (at least for me)

Enjoy

md usa spybot fan
2006-04-11, 19:44
When you provided the Inno Setup code, I thought that possibly the following code may have affected the testing: Flags: createvalueifdoesntexist
Since I don't use Inno Setup, I was not sure of that code could have affected your findings. Taken literally that code would indicate to me that if the registry entry existed that possibly Inno Setup would not attempt to recreate it and therefore TeaTimer would not detect it.