PDA

View Full Version : Virtumonde family...

Kramer
2009-02-21, 17:23
Hi there,
I'm pretty new at this... I know there are other threads about Virtumonde, but I don't really understand them...here's my situation:
Spybot-SD updated version (162), upon scanning my laptop, does spend quite some time on all three of these: Virtumonde.sci, Virtumonde.sdn and Virtumonde.dll, but doesn't mention them as threats at the end. I also ran Mcafee, Superantispyware and VundoFix, and none of them found it (as far as I can tell, couldn't stay awake until completion of VundoFix...).
Intrigued by the name, I looked it up and saw that it is a rather common (yet vicious) issue. I have tried a recommended method to get rid of the bugger, to no avail (scan with several programs in safe mode, all in the same Window session...). The three Virtumonde "files" still appear during Spybot scan.
Now I don't get pop ups when surfing, neither do I get prompted to buy all sorts of spyware programs, as I saw many people do (those seem to be the common symptoms). I don't use IE, I use Chrome, does that change anything?
The symptom I do get is that my laptop is painfully slow at times, much more so than it ever was.
No matter what I tried on my own, there's no getting rid of the Virtumonde stuff, and as I read pretty much everywhere that it is one nasty thing, I need help!!!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm more than willing to go through any necessary process, as long as it proves efficient!
Thanks a lot to you guys out there taking time out of your days to help us novices out...

Matt
2009-02-21, 17:37
Hi Kramer,

if Spybot doesn't mention Virtumonde in red color at the end, then you could be free of Virtumonde. ;) So be happy. :)

Under the green scan bar, Spybot only shows you, for what kind of Malware it is searching. Virtumonde changes every week, so there are lots of detection rules.