PDA

View Full Version : Trend Micro???

GeneRyan
2009-06-24, 10:35
I have been using S&D for at least 3 years now. I love it. IMO one of the best lines of defense against malware. I always recommend the product to friends and clients. Though i have been a user for many years now i have never seen this Website before. I am even happier.

A few months ago i downloaded and installed Trend Micro PC-Cillan. Upon installation the program told me not to trust S&D. I figured it was TM's way of making a buck and stealing clientel from S&D.

what i dont understand is if they dont endorse S&D, which they clearly dont, why do the admins here advise people to visit their site?? i would figure that the creators of S&D could make their own registry tools and viral stinger tools.

Just thought i'd throw it out there and see who swings at it.

Thanks again for all u all do! I know these kind of resources are neither cheap or easy to put into place, and somehow you guys manage to do it on donations, unlike ur competitor!!

Hats off to S&D:bigthumb::angel:

tashi
2009-06-24, 17:12
Hello GeneRyan, :welcome:

what i dont understand is if they dont endorse S&D, which they clearly dont, why do the admins here advise people to visit their site??

Do you mean to download HiJackThis in the Malware Removal Forum (http://forums.spybot.info/forumdisplay.php?f=22)?

Trend Micro purchased the popular free tool. Since then other free updated programs have come into play to analyze logs.

Major changes in procedure take time, not only in the forums but also at the free volunteer run classrooms which train future malware fighters.

Hats off to S&D:bigthumb::angel:
Thank you!

Best regards. :)

GeneRyan
2009-06-25, 01:35
HJT was purchased by TM from the makers of S&D? oh i see. I sitll did not like being told to uninstall S&D during Pc-Cillian's installation.... :O

also, Free Volunteer Class??? where do i sign up... is it an online class environment?

drragostea
2009-06-25, 03:14