PDA

View Full Version : TeaTimer.exe: ever increasing RAM usage.

NotGeordie
2009-07-23, 09:56
I've been using SB S&D for a few years and note that TeaTimer RAM usage is 'creeping' up. With the 22 July update it increased from an average of 88 MB RAM to an average of 91 MB RAM on both of my computers. At the moment this is not a serious problem (XP Home SP3, Intel Core2 Duo @ 2Ghz, 2 GB RAM, IE8), but if this trend continues it may become one. Please keep in mind that TeaTimer is not the only process requiring RAM. It is, though, the single largest consumer of RAM amongst the most common processes/applications that I normally use. More than IE 8, more than my NIS 2009 . . . more than most put together. I also note that after surfing gently for an hour or so the RAM usage gradually grows even higher. Increasing to as much as 99 MB.
Don't get me wrong. I love the product, find it easy to use and it helps give me that 'warm fuzzy feeling'. But is it not approaching the dreaded level of 'bad-ware' when it requires more RAM than the main application it is supposed to be protecting?
It is my practice to, after updating, immunizing and running a scan, reboot my computers. During that reboot (and this only occurs after an update) CPU usage by TeaTimer runs at 50% for several minutes before calming down. Is this normal? What is it doing during that period of high CPU usage?
I do hope my post is sensible and in the appropriate forum (though I read posts in this forum frequently this is my first posting. Thank you for your patience).

spybotsandra
2009-07-23, 11:59
Hello,

When the computer is running for a long time without a standby, reboot, or shutdown memory consumption of a (refers to any) can slightly increase.