PDA

View Full Version : nProtect GameGuard not detected by Spybot SD

ali3nx
2009-09-04, 04:26
I'm a certified network systems engineer and recently wanted to test the Aion open beta game client until I discovered the game installed a monitoring rootkit called gameguard that does not appear to be detected by Spybot SD. I've recommended Spybot SD to clients in numerous consultations over the past years and wanted to inquire about why nProtect GameGuard has been allowed to fall under the radar. At least on my x64 windows 7 RTM install nProtect GameGuard was not detected at all :confused:

Generally speaking about malware and or spyware nProtect GameGuard certainly fits the profile for a software that:

1) installs unauthorized services for the primary purpose of monitoring your computer habits
2) cannot be easily removed by uninstalling the game ( Aion open beta client for this example ) that likely installed nProtect GameGuard
3) does not allow any modifications for removal utilizing add or remove programs control panel menu due to add/ remove programs entries not being created

ali3nx
2009-09-04, 07:40
Thanks to tashi for moving my post to the correct location :bigthumb: