PDA

View Full Version : host file help

burrellbuzzman
2010-02-20, 19:57
I searched on google and found this thread, i don't really understand it, i am a bit of a novice.

http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=20443

My problem began when I read about a win7 article choking ram on toms hardware and saw someone say look at resource monitor, i did this with no problems with my ram. anyway i looked at resource monitor and clicked on the "network" tab and i see under "network activity" that firefox.exe, with PID 984, and Address with www.007guard.com... so i presume firefox is contected to this site?

I rememeber a while ago when i was looking under the security settings on firefox that this address was blocked, however when i just checked after seeing www.007guard.com on my networking list, all the sites in the box have vanished? (i can't remember exactly what this box was) does this mean firefox is no longer protecting me?

i used spybot a while ago and set up immunisation, however i have uninstalled it on this computer due to conflicts, but still run it on some of my other machines. as far as i can remember this was before i started to use firefox. I am a bit of a novice and see people talking about HOST files on your forums and indeed i have a host file with, what i presume are immunisations... also from time to time on rescourse monitor, i have seen the sidebar connected to www.007guard.com aswell as Avast my virus software...

As the post i suggested up above, suggests the first part of the host file is missing, is this the case with mine?

# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#