PDA

View Full Version : Malware ID conflicts

StarHopper
2010-03-10, 16:32
Hi;
Noob here, tho I've been an SBD&S client for a few years now. I've had items of concern previously but never asked here (didn't know the forum existed until about an hour ago)....but this morning I encountered something that's made me finally look for some assistance. It's a bit long winded, as it's a potentially complex issue, so please forgive that - I just wanted to ensure as much detail as possible. Also, being inexperienced here I'm not sure this is the "correct" forum section, so begging pardon for that too if I'm out of place.

And with that, here goes with my problem:

After running the latest security updates yesterday, this morning when I started my computer I got an alert from Spybot Search & Destroy it had detected a threat; eg "...has encountered and terminated a process that is listed as part of a malicious software." -- and listed it as follows:

Process ID: 2932
Identified as: Win32.GBDialer.j
Filename: msfeedssync.exe
Found in: C:\WINDOWS\system32\

I opened Windows Explorer and indeed found that file there under system32\....and showing a 'last modified' time & date of this morning. I don't know if the modification time/date was due to the action of Spybot S&D or not - and am curious about that.

I got online & Google'd "msfeedssync", and saw some statements about it being a Dialer & what it does, but also other statements saying it is not a virus....some saying it is malicious & some saying it's not. Best scenario would be to Google it yourself & you can see first-hand what I encountered. Basically, I was left confused. And of course, concerned.