PDA

View Full Version : New to Spybot S&D and need some advice.

smurf667
2010-07-26, 18:06
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Spybot and these forums, so please bare with me, I don't even know if I'm posting in the right place or not.

I was pointed to spybot search and destroy after installing PCTools Spyware Doctor. I came online to see what the general feeling was about that program, before spending any money on it, and found that many people disliked it and were advising spybot instead, as the better program and also being free.

I'd already done a scan with Spyware Doctor and it came up with an alarming number (to me) of 57 infections of spyware and Trojans of 3 different types of threats, which is why I did an internet search to get info on Spyware Doctor, and got pointed here.

I installed and ran Spybot Search and destroy, which indeed did find 7 infections, and dealt with them.

Out of curiosity, I ran Spyware Doctor again, but it STILL was showing that there was 2 threats and 37 infections on my PC, those being Trojan-Downloader.Murlo (23 infections) and Hijacker.DosProp_Toolbar (14 infections), all in the registry. Which has got me completely confused, as Spybod S&D said my system was now clear.

Which program do I believe, or do I disregard both? If Spyware Doctor is telling the truth, then why is Spybot S&D saying I'm clear?

Help please, because as well as being confused by it all, I'm now wary of even going on the internet.

I'm running XP Pro SP3 and Internet Explorer 8 if that helps.

Thanks in advance.

Pete.

tashi
2010-07-26, 18:23
Hello smurf667,

Do you have an anti virus program installed, if so has it reported anything remiss? How is the computer running. :)

Best regards.

smurf667
2010-07-26, 19:14
Hello smurf667,

Do you have an anti virus program installed, if so has it reported anything remiss? How is the computer running. :)

Best regards.

Hi Tashi,