PDA

View Full Version : Computer really messed up! Please Help...

abhigley
2010-10-07, 00:21
I'm trying to help a neighbor with their laptop that appears to have some very nasty malware on it. I"m posting this thread from my own laptop since I can't get theirs to open a browser window to the internet.

When I first got their computer, it had the AntiSpy Safeguard window that would pop up on bootup. After some research on the internet, I was able to remove it so that it won't pop up when the computer is rebooted.

Then I tried to install Spybot S&D from a USB thumb drive, but when I tried to run it, it just shut down and any attempt to run the program again resulted in a message saying that it couldn't be found. It was totally disabled by some still-resident malware. I tried the same thing with Malwarebytes' AntiMalware program and it was also disabled before it could run anything.

This is my first time posting anything like this and upon reading the initial information, decided to post this thread first before trying to download ERUNT and DDS onto a USB thumb drive and trying to run it on the infected laptop (Compaq). Besides, if I can't open a browser, how will I effectively copy and paste any results from those programs into this thread?

How do I proceed from here?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Blade81
2010-10-11, 16:32
This is my first time posting anything like this and upon reading the initial information, decided to post this thread first before trying to download ERUNT and DDS onto a USB thumb drive and trying to run it on the infected laptop (Compaq).
You can transfer logs with USB drive and then post back their contents.

abhigley
2010-10-11, 22:06