PDA

View Full Version : XP Security Alert 2011

gksmith
2011-03-23, 21:35
A user at work encountered the "XP Security Alert 2011" and I found a fix that included two registry fixes and Malware Bytes software.

Can Search and Destroy detect and deny/prevent/kill the XP Security Alert 2011?

spybotsandra
2011-03-24, 10:51
Hello,

We should be able to and although nothing is present after a scan we will be able to locate the threat in a bug report.

But Spybot Search and Destroy is only free for the private use.

Corporate users need to purchase a license.

Some more information is available here (www.safer-networking.ie).

Best regards
Sandra
Team Spybot

LariRudi
2011-03-26, 08:48
XP Security Alert 2011

And I never said "yes" to ANY of their questions.

I'm a Newbie, and am wondering where to get the free download that takes care of this nuisance?

None of my executable files work except AOL that provided me a path to get in here.

thx,

LarryR : )

LariRudi
2011-03-26, 09:07
And I was able to locate it to verify it's presence in my "Program Files".... I was surprised to not find a new icon on my Desktop? Should there be one automatically installed?

Well, I tried to run it, and all I get is the Window's "Window" that says "Open With", and it suggests numerous executable programs that I have.

So it won't open/run.

Does that mean I have further/more problems on my computer?

When I succeed in getting it to run, will it be intuitive? or do I need instructions? Of course I don't want to damage my computer with a mistrake on my part.

[edit one for spelig]

thx,

tashi
2011-03-26, 16:38
Hello LariRudi,

When I succeed in getting it to run, will it be intuitive? or do I need instructions?

Spybot-S&D? Tutorial: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/tutorial/index.html

Please list the security programs installed on your computer. :)

Best regards.

LariRudi
2011-03-26, 17:27
Hello LariRudi,

Spybot-S&D? Tutorial: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/tutorial/index.html