PDA

View Full Version : Challenging Malware Removal

Bombaycat
2011-09-07, 05:07
Hi! Before anything else, I have major in system of telecomunications, so I have some knowledge about malwares and similar things. So no problems in jargons or extremly specific information.

I know that I would proceed to provide logs of my pc right now, but this malware has done something quite nasty: It corrupted the system registry, so the computer no longer boots. So yes this is gonna be quite a challenge.

I'm using a live ubuntu cd for booting, and with the help of Digital Forensic Framework I got quite far within the possibilities of the malware I got.

The lines of defense:
In Windows I use Avast anti-virus, but today it's currently off because license expired (It was ok when I got problems, I know it expired because it's expires based on date). I use Spybot Search&Destroy and Superantispyware, but the later without real-time scanning, to prevent conflicts. (It's good for removing tracking cookies, that's only why I use it)

The symptoms:
I did not accessed any dangerous site, nor read any spam/virus e-mail or anything suspect. In one day the computer started to behave slower. The other day, a software took way more than usual to load. Few hours later, the system crashed. Not even the mouse pointer moved. After that the system was incredibly slow to boot, and kept crashing before/after/while boot process. After some attempts, it no longer booted, returning a message that a file from the system was corrupted:
C:\Windows\System32\Config\System
Windows Registry is gone. =\

However I still can access pretty much any file thru Linux. No other file showed any sign of being corrupted.

Diagnosis:
My initial suspect was a hardware failure, something between the sata controller of the motherboard and the harddrive. But after EXTENSIVE tests, no hardware problem was found with the pc. Motherboard, cable, harddrive. Everything is fine.