PDA

View Full Version : Brave Sentry troubles

nameless_one
2006-08-06, 09:09
Hi.
Have the Spyware infestation - need to get rid of it (obviously).

I'm not very good with this stuff so please try to explain everything as simply as possible.

I'm aware that you don't ever click on the fake 'you've got spyware' windows that pop-up when you're browsing, but when I started-up the computer & saw the Brave Sentry 'desktop ad', I fell for the 'Windows warning' (little yellow box that pops up from the taskbar) telling me to 'click here'. Then it installed the Brave Sentry program on the system.
** (I'm not sure whether this makes any difference, that's all)

As of right now I've gotten rid of the stupid background (a friend reccommended that I use 'Ad-Aware SE Personal'), but that was before I found this site, so I haven't done any of the other things this site suggests, and wasn't sure what to do since I've already used this first.

* And using Ad-Aware has gotten rig of the false desktop, but not the Brave Sentry detection program itself, or the 3 or 4 different kinds of pop-ups it seems to cause.
------------------------
I've downloaded 'Hijack-This' as your site reccommends and run it only to get the log, nothing else.

The log follows:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 2:04:59 PM, on 6/08/2006
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
E:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
E:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
E:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
E:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
E:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
E:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
E:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
E:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
E:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
E:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
E:\Program Files\Winamp\Winampa.exe
E:\Program Files\Alcatel\SpeedTouch USB\Dragdiag.exe
E:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_01\bin\jusched.exe
E:\My Documents\Tim's Stuff\Guitar Pro\DVD Region Killer\RegKillTray.exe