PDA

View Full Version : S&D Time Question

canzing
2012-01-26, 23:27
Hello All ~~

I'm fairly new to Spybot S&D ~ but ~ I LOVE it! My computer has never been better protected!! Now, I'm not a cpu guru; yet, I can find my way around.

My question is how long on average does it take S&D to scan cpu systems? Mine seems to take a long time! I started scan last night at midnight and it was still going at 9a.m. this morning!

I run it on the default mode per download; as I get confused with all the information about the advanced mode. That's where my knowledge runs into a brick wall!

Just wondering if my system scan is about average.

Thanks ~~ Candi

spybotsandra
2012-01-27, 11:26
Hello Candi,

A scan should not take that long.
Did you close all other programs during the scan with Spybot-S&D?
Which version of Spybot-S&D do you run?
Which Windows version do you have?

Best regards
Sandra
Team Spybot

canzing
2012-01-27, 17:44
Hi Sandra ~

Yes - I close all windows prior to scan.

I follow the tutorial (look for update/immunize/scan)

Windows version.....Windows Vista .... 7 Starter Package.....i have HP notebook.

Spybot version . ........1.6.2

thank you very much for your help!

spybotsandra
2012-01-30, 11:54
Hello Candi,

Was anything found in the scan so far?
Do you have any other security software installed?

Best regards
Sandra
Team Spybot

canzing
2012-01-30, 16:37
Hi Sandra ~

The silliest thing happened on myscan with S&D. I updated it prior to scan; and the scan didn't take long at all! I'm wondering if maybe I had something missing that came through with the update?

Thanks for all your help!

Candi

spybotsandra
2012-01-30, 16:46
Hello,

Please run Spybot - Search & Destroy and switch to "Advanced mode" via the menu bar item "Mode" and select "Settings" --> "File Sets" in the left bar. There, please right-click somewhere into the list and choose "select all available checks".

Best regards
Sandra
Team Spybot

canzing
2012-01-31, 05:03
Hi Sandra ~~